What’s the Difference Between K.O and BL Figures?

2 6911
Avatar for Codex_04
3 years ago
Bootleg (Left Side) / Authentic (Right Side)

A lot of collector’s often says that K.O and BL figures are just the same but for me they have a lot of differences in each other and that’s what we will discuss right now. Here’s another figure knowledge yet to be unfold for starters or others that don’t have any idea regarding figure collecting, come and join me as I will share my knowledge regarding on this anyways, we will about to find out what is KO and what BL means, let’s start shall we?

Normal person knows that K.O was short for “Knockout” and terminologies in boxing but the K.O we will discuss right now means “Knock off” and BL means “Bootleg”. For starters in figure collecting this knowledge was one of the basic things you need to know and for collectors that have knowledge often avoided this kind of toys, why? because others know and says it was FAKE! FAKE! FAKE! It was true that BL and KO were not authentic toys but it doesn’t mean that you have to avoid them and that’s what my article goal for today, I will give some facts and opinions based on my experience collecting this kind of toys.

BL (BOOTLEG)

Authentic (Left Side) / Bootleg (Right Side)

Bootleg figures are basically toys that was copy to original figure, they are the figures that have a lot of issues, starting with the texture, details, paint chips and a lot of BL figure has very low quality. The reason why a lot of collectors avoided bootleg was because of the things that I told and its a fact, though my first figure in collecting was also bootleg it’s not that bad, it has some minor issues but if you differentiate it from the authentic you can see their differences. Collecting bootleg was not that bad also because at the end of the day the most important thing was your happiness and contentment about it. One of the advantages that bootleg offers was you can get it at a cheaper price but don’t expect a lot and I already told the reason why other collectors hate it.  Before you get a bootleg make sure that it was for keeps (for yourself) and not for sale because it was hard to sell to other collectors and I will say this that a lot of collectors were so picky when it comes to toys.

KO (KNOCK OFF)

Authentic (Left Side) / KO (Right Side)

Knockoff figures was different from BL figures, others may say that they are the same and they were both fakes but my friend you are wrong with that before you judge it first better to look and see it first. Knockoff figures are figures with high quality and they were almost identical to authentic figures. I used to know before that BL and KO were the same, others told that KO was just a better name but still It was fake, all I can say to them was you got it all wrong, even KO was fake or not authentic the quality of figure was so good, from the details, materials used, size and even weight you will not know that it was KO until you look it closely. I can tell this because I also have KO figures copy from the resin figures which is why I able to defend it. The only difference of them was from the box of the KO figures from the authentic, it has no authenticity but overall KO was better than bootleg.

DS Sanji & Zoro, Both of them were just K.O (Knock off) Looking Good Right?

Both BL and KO were not original but there’s a lot of differences between them, it’s up to you whether you will collect one or not but if you want a budget friendly figures better start with them, and on the other hand if the quality was the one your looking for, better get an authentic figures. This is just a friendly from a fellow collector following my tips or not it was okay as long I can share my knowledge with you guys. Will you collect BL and KO figures? Feel free to share your thoughts!

5
$ 10.35
$ 10.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Codex_04
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Codex_04
3 years ago

Comments

TIL. Didnt know this KO exist. But how would you know if its a KO and the OG then? if its almost looks the same

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good question bro, as I mention there was a difference in box at the same time I forgot to mention that an authentic figure has a markings on the figure itself also for resin figure it has a license plate frame and count. Thanks for idea I will make another article on this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago