Survive on Wasteland

18 34

I manage to gather enough resources such as canned goods, bottled water, medical kit, clothes, guns and other useful things i found. I continue my journey to the North which had low level of radiation, I'm also looking for possibility that there's a place where humans can live in this apocalyptic world. I walk nonstop, whenever I saw car, i tried to open its window and start the engine but all of them had been toasted by heat came from explosion. I have no choice but to walk since there's no cars that can be use to travel faster. I can feel the cold breeze of the wind, I look at the sky and realize that it's almost 4 weeks since the explosion happened that covers the atmosphere with black smoke.

There's no sunlight reflecting on the surface of the planet and that's a bad news. I immediately continue my journey since nuclear winter is coming and I need to hurry up or else I'll die in freezing cold. I can't move that fast since Im wearing a backpack and also there's a black dust falling from the sky that blocks my vision. Suddenly, I saw someone moving nearby and it's not just a single person but a group of them. I hide my gun at the back and shout to them while my both hands are waving. Suddenly, I was shoot by bullets hopefully my reflexes are good that's why I manage to dive at the ground and avoid being hit by those bullets.

Suddenly the shooting stopped and I glimpse their position. They are approaching in my location that's why I also rained them with bullets on my pistol that makes them retreat. The black dust falling gives me advantage and disadvantage since enemies can't find where Am I as long as I don't use my pistol to fire on them. I use the moment to escape and use different route. I run as fast as I can and when I knew that I lost them already. I hide inside the restaurant until I secure that they didn't follow me. I look around them I was surprised by man which lying on the floor seems like sleeping, I prepared my gun and point it to the man then flip him. He's already freezing, I think he's Deadman a couple of days ago.

He's holding assault riffle and I check if there's an extra magazine inside his bag then I'm lucky that he had 5 rounds of magazine which helpful for me to survive. I look around the restaurant to find any edible goods then I found canned goods that's why I packed those goods in a bag but I open one can and start eating. I think I need to wait a decade before I can taste vegetables and fruits again since the soil was contaminated with radiation that will contaminate all the crops grew in that soil that's why it's not safe to eat those crops even if you feel so hungry cause it will bring you to death. After I finish the food in can, I continue my journey to North.

Suddenly there's a drop of white dust everywhere. It's black before but it's white now, it indicates that itz gonna snow and the nuclear winter will happen. I immediately walk as fast as I can before the snow with stock pile that will make me struggle to walk due to heavy snow. After a couple days of walking, the snow drops heavily and I'm having hard time to breath. I'm gonna collapse, I try find a shelter but I already feel dizzy, I think it'd already my end, I close my eyes then I became conscious. When I open my eyes it's so bright. I thought I was in heaven now but when look around I saw a candle giving light to us.

Suddenly there's a little girl showed in front of me that is smiling. I think I'm already hallucinating now but I got surprised when there's a voice came from behind me, it's a voice of a lady. They told me that they saw me lying outside their hideout that's why they tried to save me. They are living in a nice hideout. I give thanks to them and I give them the things I have as a payment for saving me. Then the lady stopped me, she said that she had the radio and heard a broadcast that there's a safe place where survivors can live. The coordinates is complicated that they can't understand. I look at the coordinates and get the map inside my bag. I use the pen to map the latitude and longitude and I manage to determine the location of the place, the government called it as "Safe Haven".

10
$ 2.52
$ 2.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 4
Sponsors of Codename_Chikakiku
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I hope this situation won't happen in real life as I don't want to resort eating endless canned goods, so unhealthy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hopefully, That Lady and girl are good people... I cannot wait to read the rest of the story.. this is awesome up until now even though it is extremely sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feels like I'm watching a movie while reading your article. I remember the Chernobyl incident mixed with the Resident Evil setting where almost everybody's dead (not including the zombies though). Great fictional article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad that there's still a survivor chikakiku. I love the story. I imagine the situation he had. He always eat canned goods. He wants to eat veggies but he didn't have a choice. I hope they can go to the place immediately called "Safe Haven".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the result of watching too much survival movies ate hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo chikakiku. Iba talaga eh. Sobrang galing. ☺️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's felt like a mission. Roger that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

too much watching war and sci fi movies hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting story, I remember last 2020 I was playing in this kind of game hahaha. Super interesting when you give a good shot to those enemies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah my character isn't not that into killings since he's focus on how to survive, well everyone of us wants to live and survive right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah thats it my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inspired by the war? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy ang interesting ng kwento. Matanong ko lang, is it inspired sa current war threat between ukraine and russia?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah po, naglakagay lang ako ng instances once the WW3 will happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was really interesting to read I'm happy you survived

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so great when so escaped your enemies and you are lucky that you find can goods at restaurant. That feeling your out of conscious but someone was willing to help you, you're so luck with those ladies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's a fiction sir Haahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yups I know cause literally there's no snow here in our country haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago