Are we already Freed?

0 19
Avatar for Codename_Chikakiku
2 years ago
Topics: Freedom, Freewriting
Sponsors of Codename_Chikakiku
empty
empty
empty

I want to share with you today my knowledge I got during my online class. It was a topic that was too broad to discuss and having a long debate but I will express my opinion based on my perspective and reality I saw on this world. I will focus on Philippine situation and i will tackle on this article about how Filipinos changes after the colonization of foreigners. Maybe I will write this one by spoken poetry or persuasive type of delivering a message but I don't know maybe I can express it in different methods so here it is.

Did we totally gain freedom from foreigners who colonize our country?

Then why we are still practicing their methods and the way we believe?

Maybe they influence us a lot and we can't change it because even though we don't like the history, we still part of it

There's one thing we can do it is to accept it.

I understand the circumstance that conquerors centuries ago have the power to dominate the world, thats the main reason why Spain conquered our own country for almost 333 years. We became under Spanish Empire, our ancestors experience abuse from Spanish authority and prayles.

Hundreds years later, Filipino Patriotism woke up and there are heroes who sacrifice their lives to fight back against Spaniards. After centuries of suffering wr finally gain freedom. Until another conquerors dominates our nation. They are Americans who bring education to our country, they influence us a lot and they introduce to us, English as a second language. It is one of the greatest contribution of Americans to us because we have the capability to speak English and understand it.

After Americans, Japanese colonized us again and our ancestors treated like slaves again. Filipinos during Japanese Colonization experience abuse, women's are raped by Japanese soldiers and Filipinos are force to walk ling distance known as Death March. That was a nightmare for Filipinos. We've been conquered by Japanese for few years but it remark a tragedy that Filipinos will remember forever.

Until Filipino reached its final freedom, we became a strong independent country under the leadership of strong presidents. We dominate globally and we are able to compete in economical matters.

Globalization affected every Filipino lives, different things coming from other nations are able to export here on Philippines like clothes, goods, foods, products, movies, literary books, etc. Due to this, Filipinos have knowledge about what are cultures of other nations and the way of belief. We became interested into those things. We start to realize how beautiful other country is. Some of us wants to visit other nations because we are curious about their country. There are Filipinos who follow the trend by wearing clothes made in other country. Praising songs from other countries.

We don't realize that we already forgotten what our own culture is. We don't appreciate our own clothing, I understand that Filipino clothing is too old to wear and we are only wearing it during special occasions or there's a celebration. But still we must admire our culture, some people are listening to foreign musics though they don't understand it. They don't realize that OPM songs are the best. I understand that we need to adapt on trend but we must not forget our own culture because its were we born.

Due to technological evolution, it became easier for Filipinos to access on internet and gain information from different country. For an instance, there are lots of Filipino Youth who became fan of Korean Idols. They start admiring their idols and love their music. I'm not against Youth who love Korea but if you'll asked you something about Korea and about your Korean idols, I know its easy for you to answer but what if I will asked you about the youngest general of Philippines who fought against Spaniards did you know who it is?. I know some of you may answer it correctly but some may not.

I'm not a hater of Kpop but my point is, we admiring foreign culture so much that we starting to forget our own culture. I knew that time changes a lot and countries are connected to each other. There are sharing of cultures and trading goods. But in the case of conquering territories like what's happening on South China Sea and the domination of foreign business here on Philippines.

Did you think that Philippines already gain it's freedom?

Authors Message:

Oh no its messy again haha, my ideas are gone wild and I don't know what I wrote, I just freewrite it and I express the details of my neurons. I know its confusing please bear with me. Thank you reading my messy blog.

Lead Image Source

5
$ 2.81
$ 2.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kingofreview
Sponsors of Codename_Chikakiku
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Codename_Chikakiku
2 years ago
Topics: Freedom, Freewriting

Comments