The Work of Art

0 8
Avatar for CoJournerMina
3 years ago

There are a lot of women who inspire me. But there was one woman who inspired me the most, that person that I've known and lived with 17 years ago.

And I've seen her life through the lense of Kintsugi. Her life is not perfect but her life showed me and explained to me the concepts of Wabi-sabi and Kinstugi as well as the belief and practice of a hundred- eighty- degree- turn to the Artist.

The concept of Wabi-sabi embraces and allows to be more accepting and embracing the beauty of flaws and rawness. It expresses simplicity and the truest form of an object. Wabi-Sabi implies that nothing lasts, nothing is finished and nothing is perfect. Kinstugi is the Japanese art of using gold to bond pottery pieces back together. It is built on idea that in embracing flaws and imperfections, we can create even stronger and more beautiful piece of art.

Every break is unique and each one symbolizes the scars as part of the design. Using this metaphor for restoration which teaches us an important lesson that in the process of repairing things that have been broken, we create something more unique, beautiful and non-fragile.

My mother had her share of unpalatable experiences and she didn't deny it. She never turned back; She had 180 degree turned and fulfilled what the Creator has designed for her. For me that was a great example for a child. As a mother, she chose her children over her feelings and personal satisfaction. Like a masterpiece that has been broken and restored with gold, her life has become more meaningful. Those experience contributed to her well-being. It made her strong and finished the race well we know as "life".

Also, I couldn't forget how dedicated she was to her work or calling. Rain or shine, she would reached out to the far-flung areas in order to render health services to the common-tao. As I continue my journey within myself, I gain deeper understanding of what Pulso sa Pulso is.

Battling cancer is not easy. I've wtnessed her struggles and agony. And that made me closer to God. We experience much of His Divine Intervention that as I open my eyes then she was being revived. Not even once nor twice but several times we have experienced His grace. But time came for her physical body to break down. Indeed, nothing lasts and nothing is permanent.

The masterpiece that has been once broken, has been restored and became more wonderful work of art. All glory and honor to the greatest Artist.

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for CoJournerMina
3 years ago

Comments