I Can't Keep You With Me & I Can't Ask You To Stay

0 5
Avatar for Clintbling
3 years ago

I can't keep u with me & I can't ask u to stay. I can't hold on to u & I can't beg u to be mine only. I can't keep u caged when all u want to do is fly & I can't slow u down when u are going to run.

As tempting as it would be…I can't make u all mine. And I can't keep up with u when u are everywhere all at the same time.

So instead …I have decided to love u all wild. In all the ways that keep u still but set u free, in all the ways u won't forget & remember me fondly. I'm gonna let u go when u want to be let go & I'm gonna say goodbye when u want to go somewhere far. I'll smile & tell u it's okay if u don't come back, but if u do so I'll welcome u home with open arms. And I promise it'd be just like u were never gone.

I'll let u stay with me if that's what u want to & if u wanna hold on, I'll be the anchor u wanna hold on to. I'll be there by your side when u need someone to lean on & I'll hold ur hands to help u cross the bridges u are so damn afraid to cross. I'll help u burn the ships when u are tired of the sea & and dry the rivers when u are tired of flowing …and I'll let u rest when u are all tired of the running.

And through time, when ur wings start to stretch & it's time for u to go again …I will be ready to let u go again. No, I would never ask u to stay. I'll let u run, I'll let u fly, I'll let u flow, I'll let u try …that's my way of loving u, letting u be all u - all the while hoping at the end of the day, I'd be the one u would come home running to.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Clintbling
3 years ago

Comments