Darling, My Sincerest Apology

0 3
Avatar for Clintbling
3 years ago

Darling, my sincerest apology

I told you, you would never die

if you chose to stick with me.

I promised you forever

saying I was a writer

I was so sure words were powerful

and I would capture every moment in the paper.

And I did at first

for the most part

every time my pen and paper met

you were what I wrote about.

I wrote about you.

And I tried to act, the way all poets do.

I craved you in my paper

I claimed I loved you.

And I did love you.

Even though I was using fancy words I didn't quite get

my feelings were simple and true.

You were my muse

and I admit there were times I was exaggerating

but either ways I kept my promise

I was still writing.

Or so I thought

I didn't know this would happen you see

I didn't know it was possible

I didn't know words would fail me.

Or did I fail them instead?

Was I the one who couldn't keep their wish?

Because lately I can't write about you

I have become too selfish.

And it's not because I love you less

if it's possible I love you more than ever

that ironically is the reason

why I no longer want you in my paper.

Because I am no poet, I admit

and there are feelings that don't have words that fit.

But even when they do, and I know all about it

I have become too selfish to share and write about it.

Too selfish to write about the moments we've had

Too selfish to give the paper what I feel, when you are around.

So darling, I apologize sincerely

but I have come to like our world better, when it's just you and me.

And that's why I have decided to keep some part of us hidden

because some feelings are too good to be written.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for Clintbling
3 years ago

Comments