Before Trilogy: How Do We Know if Someone is The One? | Part 1

2 37
Avatar for Claementine
2 years ago
Topics: Films, Movies, Indie, Romantic, Drama, ...

(Lead image from Film-grab.com and edited in Picsart.)

Romantic indie films do really have this fascinatingly wonderful yet invisible force that never fails to draw out our hopeless and hopeful romantic sides, feeding the hunger for love we do not know resides within us. From The Notebook to When Harry Met Sally, and the 500 Days of Summer, up to the Before Trilogy—which was my most recently watched (and by recent, I meant something like 2 months ago when all was well and my heart full), one can never get bored binging the very reason that sparks our wishes to also experience the famous kissing in the rain scenes or even just the "randomly bumping at each other in the streets with our one true love" situation.

Original photo from Film-grab.com and edited in Picsart.

I have long heard of Before Trilogy but I only ever watched it fully in the month of October this year. It came to me through suggestions from friends and I was truly fascinated as to how they all said similar reviews about how good the films were to which thereafter I finished, I say were all true. And I swore that after the credits of the last film of the trilogy rolled, I was a whole new different person! The trilogy became my favorite movie until now, and I say that the very day I finished all three was one of the most beautiful and almost perfect days I had except the part where I watched it with someone who no longer is part of my everyday life.

I do not hate the memory nor am I still sad about the parting of ways that happened between the person and me. It was such a very beautiful memory we shared and I do not regret having to share it with him. I even remember how we had this very smart and luscious discourse and argument about our insights and takeaways from the films. It was so sexy for me because of how deep and raw and comfortable it was. And it was just so rare that despite us no longer connected now, I cannot help but still crack a smile whenever it crosses my mind.

Original photo from Film-grab.com and edited in Picsart.

Nevertheless, there was this one argument we had that stuck with me. It was the one where we pondered together about the nature of meeting and falling in love with the wrong people only to get shattered from the broken hopes for the what could have been's, and how that seem to be a cycle we have to undergo because how do we know if a person is the one and spare ourselves from possible heartbreaks when there is no sign anywhere for any of us?

Original photo from Fil-grab.com and edited in Picsart.

The first installment of the trilogy titled Before Sunset shows how human connections work. How our linkages with each other can happen anytime, anywhere in the most random places and moment in time. And those chances are fleeting like specks of snowflakes that could go blown by the wind in a breath and we could be losing or gaining just the best of the connection we could ever have depending on what we choose to do—to move forward first and finally ask that cute blonde girl across you in the train about the book she's holding or you just let your thinking twice get the best of you, letting the moment slip because of how you think that guy with a really nice smile may not be looking at you at all as oppose to what you're thinking and wishing. This part of life tells us that our person could be just anyone and we don't even know. They could be that girl beside you standing in the condiments aisle in the grocery store or the guy you're seeing on TV.

Original photo from Fil-grab.com and edited in Picsart.

And this total randomness of the unknown may be scary for the most of us because we could also be wrong with what we may be thinking and believe in. But don't you think that maybe that sense of unsureness is the greatest part of finding love? Because the unknown pushes us to take that little risks in between every seconds and you might not be aware of it. It is the reason why we get to build countless of good and even the unlikely memories with other people although they are not our endgame—which have built us as the people we are today and how we look at love and life after the cracks have made their sound.

Original photo from Fil-grab.com and edited in Picsart.

So how do we really know if someone is the one for us?

The answer is simple. We do not.

Because if we do, then the surprise of it all would have been spoiled for us right from the beginning. And also, maybe if we do, then I would not have even tried to make that conversation with the guy I watched the trilogy with. And if I didn't make it, then I would have never get to own those beautiful conversations and arguments we had that I treasured a lot and I probably still won't be listening to Keshi today just so if ever—which is a massive loss for me. So, go get that chance, love, because the existence of "the one" is a mesh of stories and experiences a person achieves after every heartbreaks and success. And maybe, just maybe, your person still needs that lesson from whomever they are with today to become the best for you.

How about you? How do you think if someone is the one for you? Tell me about your thoughts in the comment section.

(Hello, loves! I hope you had fun reading this article and I wish I have inspired you guys to not lose hope with finding and waiting for the right persons for us who will be as ready as we are when we get right into the very moment. Let us continue to love, shall we?)

1
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Vincent21
Avatar for Claementine
2 years ago
Topics: Films, Movies, Indie, Romantic, Drama, ...

Comments

w0w

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Thank you for reading! I appreciate it lots. Btw, feel free to share your thoughts about what do you think how would you know if someone is the one for you. Have a great day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago