Who unleashed the dogs?

0 17
Avatar for Chrismariae
3 years ago

My mood tonight is really bad though I've been trying very hard to shake off the feeling, I've tried everything possible to be normal and pretend as if everything is alright, but it seems like the more I try to forget what caused my sadness the more I think about it and feel even worse than ever


Please forgive me for continuously posting about my country Nigeria and all the evil that abound, I'm not in any way trying to denigrate or to bore you with bad things that happen but I do this because I love my country so much and I want things to be better; that's why I feel very bad when things don't go the way they should in the country


Secondly, I post about my country here because this seems to be the only and easiest way I vent my anger, since I discovered this platform I always write articles about some things bothering me and feel better. 


I will never fail to appreciate those of you that make comments under these posts, especially those that express their constructive views and opinions. I hope I get your responses to this post too


Tonight I want to draw our attention to a monster that is gradually growing bigger and more dangerous than those who created it. There is a saying in my place that "giving drink to a monkey is never a problem, collecting back the cup from the same monkey is the real problem", that's exactly what is about to happen in my beloved country Nigeria and if care is not taken something bigger and worse than #endsars protest will soon happen in Nigeria


Hardly does a month pass by since the current regime that we don't hear one unpleasant news or the other in Nigeria. Its always bad news, killings, bad government policies, etc


Just last year, Nigerian youths cane together for the first time irrespective of class, tribe, or religion. They came together with one voice against the brutal killings and intimidation of Nigerian youths by a unit of the Nigeria police force known as SARS. Sars means some dial anti-robbery squad


They brutalized, killed, and maimed Nigerians with impunity for many years. The worst part of the whole thing that triggered Nigerians to protest was the fact that the government knew that those men were maltreating and killing Nigerians yet they said nothing and did nothing to protect innocent Nigerians from the shackles of those evil brutal men


Nigerian youths took to the streets to protest the incessant killings and brutalization of innocent Nigerians especially the youths. The government tried all they could to stop the protest but the youths refused to give up until the protest was hijacked which consequently promoted the government to order the military to move into the protest ground; on the process they fired live bullets at the protesters killing many of them


Seeing that the international communities were getting interested in the protest, the government announced that SARS had been banned just to turn people's eyes away from Nigeria, they even went ahead to set up communities to link into the cases of police brutality especially those carried out by SARS operatives. Little did we know that they were doing all those things just to get the youths to leave the streets


Barely one month after the protests, the same set of evil men came back to the streets and continued their business of extorting and killing innocent Nigerians. We couldn't protest again because, during the last #endsars protest, the government sent armed military men to kill innocent protesters. Nobody wants to die


As I write this article, men of the police force are terrorizing Nigerian youths in the streets, seizing their phones, and taking some to unknown destinations. Just this evening, they visited the city where I live and picked up innocent people for no just reason, the same reason for which the #endsars protest took place. 

What exactly is wrong with Nigerian leaders?


Is it until those uniformed men kill all the youths in Nigeria before the government swings into action?


From what I gathered, the police brutality going on now is not unrelated to the latest announcement by the central bank of Nigeria that it has banned cryptocurrency exchange banks in Nigeria. They were harrassing young people and searching their phones to see whether they'll find any crypto wallets or transactions


How did we get here?

Since when did crypto currency become a "criminal offence?"


Honestly I don't understand what is going on in Nigeria. We are now living in fear in our own country, not because of terrorists or thieves but because of our government who continue to press the youths, the same youths that they refuse to produce jobs for


People go to school and graduate but they can't find jib anywhere, young people struggle everyday to make it on their own, they suffer to get what their government can't give to them. Rather than encourage and commend them, the same government clamp down on young people who become successful in what they do


That goes to show that they don't like the youths to make it in life, they want us to remain in poverty so that they can always use us as thugs to rig elections and other illegal things. Nigeria is like an accident waiting to happen because the people are already fed up. The youths have been pushed to the wall and if nothing is done urgently, the youths might take up arms against their oppressors. 


This is to place the whole world on alert, innocent lives are being wasted daily, human rights abuses are going on in Nigeria by the people who are meant to protect them


Let the world intervene because our hands are tied. We don't know the plan of this regime, we don't know what their agenda is. The appropriate authorities should come in now and investigate before it's too late!


Lead image source






1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Chrismariae
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Chrismariae
3 years ago

Comments