Stop the killing now

0 14
Avatar for Chrismariae
3 years ago

Stop the killing now!


Seeing the title of this post above someone might start thinking of guns and bullets, grenade and other weapons of human destruction but these are not the only weapons that kill people



Guns and bullets are even better because they're known to be dangerous and people take caution when they sight weapons.


The most dangerous weapon is the one that looks harmless, the one that people mingle freely with not knowing they're dangerous and capable of taking lives


Where am I driving at?


​Rumour, fake news, false information can kill faster that any bullet


My mum came back this evening shivering with fear, her heart was beating very fast and her temperature very high. I noticed and inquired to know what was wrong


She told me how some boys told her that the federal government gave a directive that the military should start shooting any crowd they see henceforth; the rumour mongers told her that another nationwide protest, deadlier and more violent will start on the 7th


I got really annoyed with the whole thing; first, because my mum believed such an unfounded story and secondly, because she allowed it get to her and she even tried convincing me to pack my bags and run away to another state since the major target is the youths


While she was still lamenting, I snapped in and rebuked her, I debunked all the rumours with facts and figures before I was able to convince her and put her out of her misery; thank God for the timely intervention, who knows,  the old woman could have been hurt 


All these happened just because of the rumours from those boys, if anything had happened to my mum no one will know that it was as a result of word of mouth, false information, Rumour!


who knows how many people would have suffered severely or even died as a result of what other people said. False information, Rumour!


do you know how far your words can go and how many people get affected?


Always verify the things you tell other people, never carry news about without verifying because you never know how far it goes or the effect it has on those that will hear them

Stop the killing now

Lead image source.



3
$ 0.66
$ 0.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Chrismariae
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Chrismariae
3 years ago

Comments