Eye for eye

0 9
Avatar for Chrismariae
3 years ago

An eye for eye renders the whole world blind

              Albert Einstein


The above quote by the great Einstein always come to my mind each time I hear or think of the phrase "an eye for an eye". It is a call for war, a call for unending battle



I remember when I was still a kid, revenge was very common among us because nobody wants to be tagged a coward or weakling; if someone did anything to you, even your friends and family will blame you for being a weakling and your friends will give you names that will make you want to even take the life of whoever dares to cross your path


I grew up with that mentality that it is only the weak that doesn't revenge when evil is done to them. You're considered brave, when you fight back or revenge, especially when you fight back and "win"


But as I grew older my mentality about so many things began to change, especially when I came across that quote by Albert Eistein


I was reflecting about that quote today and I discovered a dimension to it that I think is worth sharing; the only reason why you would want to revenge is to show the offender and other people that you're not weak, it's not even about you... that's crazy!


Another reason is to satisfy your "ego"... that's pride. You gain nothing by fighting back, you rather lose. Because if the person you are fighting back has the same ego and pride, the fight will continue until both parties are dead, and that's why Einstein made that quote

I've come to realize that forgiving and not fighting back is not a sign of cowardice nor weakness. On the contrary, it shows strength and maturity


You don't have to fight back to show that you're strong. 


When you ignore an "enemy" you keep them in suspense and perpetual fear because they don't know what you have in mind

        Chinedu Mbamalu


Violence is not always the answer to violence, but peace and love can answer and conquer any battle

        Chinedu Mbamalu


Live and let live, let's give peace a chance. 


An eye for an eye can never restore a lost eye, it will only blind more eyes

        Chinedu Mbamalu


And so I leave you in peace, think about it and say no to violence and unnecessary

Lead image source

Originally published

0
$ 0.33
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Chrismariae
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Chrismariae
3 years ago

Comments