[Short Story #1] The Secret Letter

0 34
Avatar for Ching
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Short Story

Hey Dean,

Remember the first time we met? It was in high school where you are a Tactical Officer of the school's CAT Unit and I am just a Cadette. You approached me to inquire about how our training was going on. You talked to me for hours until I decided to go home. That moment on, I couldn't get you out of my mind. I was simply looking for you at school anytime there was a CAT formation because I forgot to ask your name.

You were often there. I am always watching you at a distance while you are commanding them. Then you would always simply glance at me and smile. We would talk if we got time.

Until then, I saw your Facebook account and I added you quickly. At that time, I was looking for someone to help me in the Philippine Military Academy Entrance Examination to inquire about some details or ideas about it. For you are a military reservist, I took the chance and send you a message. We got closer then.

Our routine at school continues until you are sometimes buying in our store outside the school to talk to me and my Aunt. Then, you were messaging me about my details already. I didn't mind it at all because I stalked your profile sometimes, too.

I didn't pass my PMAEE so I took the Philippine Air Force Service Aptitude Test. That time, you accompanied me and my friends. We got a little time to date after that. Though our relationship wasn't still official, we both know our feelings are mutual.

You had also been busy with your training and work so we communicate less. My phone was got broken then I lost all of my communications with you. My family issues became worse at that time so I flee from my guardians and came home to my real family after our final exam. I hadn't even attended our graduation ceremony at that time.

My relationship with my father was also worse so I look for a job immediately to escape from home. I was successfully been hired by a direct networking agency. I was glad that the company provided a staff house for their employees so I took the chance and move in immediately.

There I met someone, we immediately became close to each other. All I know was that I was depressed. For real timing, I was looking for comfort and that guy provided it. Until a time that we go beyond the limits and a terrible thing happened. Yeah, I got pregnant. Since we didn't get along very well until the end, I raise my child as a single parent but hopefully, my family helps me and I was grateful for that.

My issues with my family were gone little by little until we got along together up to now. Then, finally, I had come to my senses. My depressed mindset changed to being an optimist. I look for a job again and luckily got one.

That time, I got a new phone again. I discovered Dean was looking for me. I always went online. Then, there I saw his social media account and instantly added him. He responded and sent me a message. He asks how I was been and many more things. Then our conversation came to how I became a single parent. So I was obliged to answer that because you deserve a well-detailed explanation after all.

I was also shocked to know your situation and guess what, yeah I don't have the right to complain about it. You start reminiscing our moments back then. You told me how we lost that opportunity and how that moment of us turned to waste.

I admit I was guilty of what I did. Sorry I was that naive back then. I know I hurt you and I was so sorry about that. You deserve to be what you are right now. I don't want to ruin your life anymore.

Even if it's a long time that we have not meet up and talk to each other, the moment we talk that time, it still brings back all of that feeling I had for you back then. Though, I know it is too late now.

You are marrying someone else after all.

Even though I will cry a thousand liters of tears and drain my eyes, I am still hopeless and a mess. Well, regrets are always in the end, right? Maybe I deserve this after all. But at least, you will know the whole truth and the story on my side. Yet I don't want this to reach you. I don't want to bother you anymore.

Hopelessly saying goodbye,

Reign

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Ching
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ching
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Short Story

Comments