MEDICAL SCHOOL: Cool From the Outside, Frustrating Within.

4 386
Avatar for Chief_Mekus
2 years ago

Medical School is a long/arduous journey, and one has to be well prepared and equipped before embarking on it.This journey begins even before one gains admission into the university because it’s competitive and thrives on the notion of “survival of the fittest,”only the best of the best are selected..

Different persons have different reasons for studying or wanting to study medicine. Some people choose to study medicine because of their passion for human lives, some do it because they feel it is a great way to acquire wealth and some others, because of personal experiences that may have shaped their mentality. One thing is sure, regardless of their reason or motivation for choosing medicine, the process of acquiring the certificate or becoming a doctor is not any different.

FRESHMAN YEAR

When I got admitted into the College of Medicine, I felt like I had arrived because I studied so hard to pass the entrance exams, but in reality, it was just the beginning of a long, complex and difficult journey. We started off with Freshman year courses similar to the conventional science courses we did while in high school. These courses at the time seemed to be a bit complex, but it was nothing compared to what was to come.

In Freshman year, as medical students, we offered about 25 courses and ensured that we failed none. This was one of the standards set for medical students to ensure that any student who proceeded to the next level did so without spillovers. I cruised through my first year in school, albeit experiencing difficulties, most of which were non-academic, but I still aced all my courses and was qualified to move to the next level.

MEDICAL SCHOOL PROPER

One of the times I read in class during my 1st year, I happened to see one of my senior colleagues with a textbook as big as all my textbooks in 1st year put together. That was when I realized that the task ahead wasn’t going to be an easy one. Before we commenced lectures for 2nd year, I was informed that we were to offer 5 courses, 4 of which were anatomy, biochemistry, physiology, medical statistics, and a general studies course.

When we resumed lectures for our 2nd year in school, I still had the mindset of a freshman and was a bit relaxed, but life came at me very fast. In our first week in school as 2nd year medical students, we were officially introduced to the courses we were to offer for the semester, and at the end of the introductory session, the 5 courses I was initially informed about translated to 17. I had no prior knowledge about these courses,so I was having trouble understanding them. As lectures began in full swing, the work load increased, coursework became voluminous,and understanding proved to be very tasking.

I was already used to jotting while reading during my 1st year but getting into 2nd year, I realized that it would be difficult for me to cover up in time, considering the workload. I had no other option than to keep jotting because that was the only method of reading that I was familiar with. I ended the second year on a very terrible note, scoring below average at the end of the academic year. This was one of the lowest moments of my life in medical school because I didn’t know what I had done wrong, I studied hard and did everything to the best of my abilities, but in the end, the result wasn’t encouraging.

This was when I knew that something was wrong, and I needed help. At a point, I could even see myself dropping out of medical school, but I held my head high and was motivated by my family and friends that looked up to me. They would be very disappointed if I eventually failed.

I then made up my mind and decided to open up to one of my friends, telling him about my plights and how my results weren’t a reflection of my efforts. He advised me to attend a tutorial with him. At the tutorial center, I learned extensively, and I realized that I didn’t have to read much from these big textbooks. The notes from the tutor contained all the necessary points I needed to ace my first professional exams, and I ensured that I studied them very well. At the end of the day, I passed all my exams as well as my first professional exam.

The journey so far has not been a smooth one, and may even become more complicated than what I’ve experienced so far, but I believe that all will be well.

April 8, 2022

6
$ 1.06
$ 0.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.40 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.02 from @Mofif
+ 1
Sponsors of Chief_Mekus
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Chief_Mekus
2 years ago

Comments

Nice meeting you pal. I just want you to note this , on your journey in life there will be a chance of giving up and a change of keeping on my friend choose the one that best suits you don't give up cause I see you gonna be some great in life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot man. See you at the 🔝.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I trust you that you will overcome your challenges in medical school. Nothing comes easy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well Said Bro, nothing comes Easy but at the end everything's going to be fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago