Reminiscing

3 15
Avatar for Cheryl451
3 years ago

I still remember that cruel gloom of September,when I watched them take mom into the theater on a stretcher.She had held my hands,and smiled amidst her pains.She told me she would be fine.

I was just going to ask her to assure me that she'd be fine.I was just going to ask her to tell me she would be on her feet again.And as I sat there watching those big green doors,I wished she would just walk out those doors on her feet.

Hours later,I saw the doctor walk out of the theater.Then the nurses followed.Then mom.But she wasn't on her feet.She could not see me.She wouldn't.She was on the stretcher.Covered completely up in white.

While the doctor held my hands and tried to explain that she couldn't make it out,I scarcely heard a word she said.There was a hard lump in my throat.I tried to speak but I lost my voice.To think that she was gone was what I couldn't comprehend.

Days later,we stood round about her,in black.The casket was bedecked with the flowers she had loved most.And there she lay,with a calm face,that was so white.;as though she had just accepted this void with no restraint.I had walked into her room,and still had to believe she wouldn't be there again.I had stared aimlessly at her pictures;our pictures.In those moments memories had flashed and times resurfaced.

I still remember her favorite song,and her favorite book.I still remember her favorite colors,and her favorite dress.I still remember where she loved to sit at the Cinema,and her favorite pew in church.And as I remember all these,it all dawns on me.All of today's moments,will become tomorrow's memories.

12
$ 0.00

Comments

3PbUCbbvxkf3BduyKz6WEAjR42pYxfArqe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice write up, I love this.keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good post . Subs you please subscribe back.

$ 0.00
3 years ago