Struggle is Real

2 18
Avatar for Charlotte
3 years ago

Just sharing the essay that I wrote last semester when my prof required us to share our situation during online class considering that we're in pandemic.

THE STRUGGLE IS REAL

This online class is indeed hard. I will honestly say this because based on my experienced, even from the first week I can feel all the exhaustion compared to face to face class. Due to this online class my mother was forced to spend money for internet connection because there are four students in our household and our signal for data connection is definitely slow. During the first month I went to my sister’s house and go home every weekend because we don’t have internet connection that time. I am an irregular student so my academic load is higher meaning I have a lot of subjects and requirements to finish; I don’t blame anyone for this but myself. The real struggle is when professors give worksheets even at midnight and ask us to pass it even during Sundays. I feel like I’m just passing their requirements but I am not gaining any knowledge about it. Some gave activities every meeting, one of those must be submitted before 12 midnight and the remaining activities must be submitted on Mondays. It’s also difficult to focus because of the noise and I also babysit my niece and nephew when their parents are working (they contribute for paying internet connection so this is my way of helping). Since we already have internet connection at home, the speed and stability is now the problem. We are 5 in our household who often use the internet and the other 2 is my cousin who asked to connect and pay some, of course my mom agreed because the monthly bill will decrease and it’ll be a great help. As a result, the speed sometimes become too slow that the only app I can access is messenger, there are also times when there’s no internet at all and it’ll just resume late at night. Household chores also hinder me to do some works at right time, I can’t complain because this is part of my responsibility. Sometimes, I pass late because the deadline is different when I open the Google classroom in my laptop and when open in my phone. I think the only way for me to cope up this is managing my time effectively and telling myself to have patience because academic freeze is really impossible, I have no choice but to abide with every rules and requirements for me to finish this semester so as my course.

Thanks for reading💗

7
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of Charlotte
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Charlotte
3 years ago

Comments

my sisters are saying the same thing because they never leave the computer now. and i feel bad that they barely get enough sleep when they're both only in highschool

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And now, profs assumed that we're all adjusted and they will not agree with the thought of passing us just bcoz of this pandemic. Well, i think it's reasonable but i hope they don't give much pressure :<

$ 0.00
3 years ago