Unfriend Your Friends on Social Media

0 18
Avatar for Cessica
3 years ago
Topics: Dear, Cybersecurity

Having friends on social media can be fun, you can easily meet a stranger that you can become your friend on social media. It was so fun because you will see their funny shared post memes. Then you meet many foreigners, learn their languages and cultures. You will receive likes or heart reactions when you change your profile picture. Many will look up about your mydays/stories. Some of my friends have 3k friends or 5k friends on Facebook and I had 1.9k friends. 

Then someone told me why I have many friends on my facebook that I don’t really know personally. I just replied to “many of my friends the merrier” and also it’s common in our country to have many friends on facebook or any social media. He told me that it is much better to have friends on social media who have a deep connection or have a closed relationship. 

Normally, I accept friend requests that have two mutual friends and I add some that have interesting posts in the group page that I am on. I didn’t feel worried because I’m not an open book on Facebook, I just express myself using a shared post. So, maybe they can’t invade my privacy. 

However, I decided to unfriend many friends on facebook just this year. I have many reasons to do it. First, I received a call for someone I don’t know personally. I received many missed video call from that caller. I remember she had mutual friends with my dad so I thought she was a relative. Then I asked my dad if he knew this person. Then he said “no”. So I unfriend that person however she didn’t stop so I just blocked her. 

Secondly, my news feed became so toxic because of too much hatred about anything. I don’t like it so I decided to unfriend many people that I don’t know at all. Some of them commented something bad about me in my shared post or profile photo. They deserved my unfriend. 

Third, some of your relatives or your old classmates are waiting for your downfall. Then they will talk about you. They based what they see about you on your Facebook. They talked about what you post on your FB or how you look in your photo. They just want to spread rumors about you. 

Fourth, someone invading my privacy, always reporting my post on FB, and stealing my photos to spread hate on instagram. 

It took me 5 hours to unfriend my friends on FB including some of my relatives that I don’t know well or not even my close relatives. I unfriend people from introverted groups who are very political. I unfriend strangers. I unfriend my old classmates in Elementary, or high school who don’t have any conversation with me. I also checked my privacy settings and what I post on social media. I've started to be careful about it. I don’t add strangers or accept strangers even if I have mutual friends from someone I know. I will check the profile first. 


Unfriending many friends on FB is the best thing I did in 2020. I got 349 friends on facebook now. I also unfollowed actresses or actors who are not good influence. I unlike pages that spreading disturbing ideas. The less the better.


0
$ 0.00
Avatar for Cessica
3 years ago
Topics: Dear, Cybersecurity

Comments