A Few Scottish/Irish Folk Songs

0 16
Avatar for Celtic-Heartbeat
3 years ago

Hello :)

I found this website earlier today and thought I would check it out.

This is my introduction post,I wasn't to sure which community to post in so for now I picked this one.

Please let me know if there are more appropriate communities to post it so I can check them out.

I am a musician and videographer from Scotland.I focus mostly on traditional Scottish and Irish folk songs ,tales and legends from Scottish and Irish folklore and videos exploring those two magical countries.

For this little intro post I thought I would make a video and sing you fine folks some songs.

I went with a 3 song set list , The Raggle Taggle Gypsy , Dublin In The Rare Old Times and The Parting Glass.

These songs have been sung in many ways by many different bands and individuals over the centuries.This set is my own original interpretation of them.

For the middle song Dublin In The Rare Old Times I found archival footage from Dublin Ireland from the era of the 1940s through to the 1960s to accompany the song and take you on a trip back in time.

I have a fairly thick Scottish accent so I will add the lyrics to each song below so you know exactly what I'm singing :)

The Raggle Taggle Gypsy

There were three old gypsies came to our hall door
They came brave and boldly-o
And one sang high and the other sang low
And the other sang a raggle taggle gypsy-o

It was upstairs downstairs the lady went
Put on her suit of leather-o
And there was a cry from around the door
She's away wi' the raggle taggle gypsy-o

It was late that night when the Lord came in
Enquiring for his lady-o
And the servant girl she said to the Lord
"She's away wi' the raggle taggle gypsy-o"

"Then saddle for me my milk white steed
- my big horse is not speedy-o
And I will ride till I seek my bride
She's away wi' the raggle taggle gypsy-o"

Now he rode East and he rode West
He rode North and South also
Until he came to a wide open plain
It was there that he spied his lady-o

"How could you leave your house and your land?
How could you leave your money-o?
How could you leave your only wedded Lord
All for a raggle taggle gypsy-o?"

"What care I for my house and my land?
What care I for my money-o?
I'd rather have a kiss from the yellow gypsy's lips
I'm away wi' the raggle taggle gypsy-o!"

"How could you leave your goose feather bed
Your blankeys strewn so comely-o?
And how could you leave your newly wedded Lord
All for a raggle taggle gypsy-o?"

"What care I for my goose feather bed
Wi' blankets strewn so comely-o?
Tonight I lie in a wide open field
In the arms of a raggle taggle gypsy-o"

Dublin In The Rare Old Times

Raised on songs and stories, heroes of renown
The passing tales and glories that once was Dublin town
The hallowed halls and houses, the haunting childrens' rhymes
That once was Dublin city in the rare old times

Ring a ring a rosie, as the light declines
I remember Dublin city in the rare old times

My name it is Sean Dempsey, as Dublin as can be
Born hard and late in Pimlico, in a house that ceased to be
By trade I was a cooper, lost out to redundancy
Like my house that fell to progress, my trade's a memory

And I courted Peggy Dignan, as pretty as you please
A rogue and a child of Mary, from the rebel liberties
I lost her to a student chap with a skin as black as coal
When he took her off to Birmingham, she took away my soul

Ring a ring a rosie, as the light declines
I remember Dublin city in the rare old times

The years have made me bitter, the gargle dims me brain
'Cause Dublin keeps on changing and nothing seems the same
The Pillar and the Met have gone, the Royal long since pulled down
As the great unyielding concrete makes a city of my town

Ring a ring a rosie, as the light declines
I remember Dublin city in the rare old times

Fare thee well sweet Anna Liffey, I can no longer stay
And watch the new glass cages, that spring up along the quay
My mind's too full of memories, too old to hear new chimes
I'm a part of what was Dublin in the rare ould times

Ring a ring a rosie, as the light declines
I remember Dublin city in the rare old times

Ring a ring a rosie, as the light declines
I remember Dublin city in the rare old times

The Parting Glass

Of all the money that e'er I had
I spent it in good company
And of all the harm that e'er I've done
Alas it was to none but me

And all I've done for want of wit
To memory now I can't recall
So fill to me the parting glass
Goodnight and joy be with you all

And of all the friends that e'er I had
They are sorry for my going away
And all the sweethearts that e'er I had
They would wish me one more day to stay

And so this falls unto my lot
That I should rise and you should not
I'll gently rise and I'll softly call
Goodnight and joy be with you all

A man may drink and not be drunk
A man may fight and not be slain
A man may court a pretty girl
And perhaps be welcomed back again

And so this falls unto my lot
That I should rise and you should not
I'll gently rise and I'll softly call
Goodnight and joy be with you all

So fill to me the parting glass
Goodnight and joy be with you all

Goodnight and joy be with you all! :)

11
$ 0.00
Avatar for Celtic-Heartbeat
3 years ago

Comments