I started to disappear for the better.

0 22
Avatar for Ceddy-lim
1 year ago

Before I met a great people and hear there story I always showing off to the internet. Showing what I got, what I am capable of even though sometimes I am not the one who created those masterpiece in web development. I always wanted to be the girl who admired by the people around me but one day I woke up and I realized that I'm not this anymore. I'm living my whole life as a lie, I'm just living for the praise of people on the internet and that's not what I really wanted.

I realized every damn stupidity thing that I made just to empress the people around me. Then I come up with the idea to detox my dopamine on social media and focus on improving myself. I decided to be not active on facebook for a couple of days but it seems that it's not really working because I can't get enough of scrolling and watching none sense and funny videos. As the day goes by I'm getting depress and loosing hope and confident then I grab my phone and delete the facebook apps on my phone.

At first it's really difficult because I'm just getting started to detox , there are many times that I install again facebook apps and scroll again and again but the good thing is at the end of the day I deleted it again. I am really trying my best on adjusting and making myself comfortable without any social media.

The day that I am waiting for.

By September 2022, I come up with a concrete plans and goals for my life . I started to not posting anything about my life on social media, I didn't react on any post, I started to read more articles on internet about programming stuffs and about life , then finally I get rid of social media on my life. I deactivated my account.

I can say that it was a huge success , changing my everyday life into meaningful it was really a wholesome. It's almost 2 months since I started to change my habit and I can say that I did not regret any of it. All of the sacrifices that I made is worth it!.

I started to become more proactive in life especially on programming. I can't imagine that I already overcome the depressing stage of my life but here we are now talking of what I achieved!. I know that it's just a small thing but for me it was a really huge contribution for my life. Its give me hope and magic to move forward.

I remember the quotes that I read on an article.

Your competition isn't other people.

Your competition is your procrastination. Your ego .

The unhealthy food you're consuming , the knowledge you neglect.

The negative behavior you're Nurturing and your lack of creativity.

Compete against that!.

My mindset before is that all of the people who involved in the field that I am working on is my competition. I didn't realize that I am already facing my very own enemy and that's me. My procrastination and lack of discipline is the one that bringing me down and helping me not to grow as an individual.

when I read those quotes, I started to work on it. I did all of my best to fight my inner self !. I read books and articles to give my brain knowledge supplements that I need.

According to my research here are some of the benefits of readings:

1.Reading Improves Concentration and the Ability to Focus

We can all agree that reading cannot happen without focus and in order to fully understand the story, we have to concentrate on each page that we read. In a world where gadgets are only getting faster and shortening our attention span, we need to constantly practice concentration and focus. Reading is one of the few activities that requires your undivided attention, therefore, improving your ability to concentrate.

2. Reading Improves Literacy

Have you ever read a book where you came across an unfamiliar word? Books have the power to improve your vocabulary by introducing you to new words. The more you read, the more your vocabulary grows, along with your ability to effectively communicate.  Additionally, reading improves writing skills by helping the reader understand and learn different writing styles.

3. Reading Improves Sleep

By creating a bedtime routine that includes reading, you can signal to your body that it is time to sleep. Now, more than ever, we rely on increased screen time to get through the day. Therefore, by setting your phone aside and picking up a book, you are telling your brain that it is time to quiet down. Moreover, since reading helps you de-stress, doing so right before bed helps calm your mind and anxiety and improve the quality of sleep.

4. Reading Increases General Knowledge

Books are always filled with fun and interesting facts. Whether you read fiction or non-fictions, books have the ability to provide us with information we would’ve otherwise not known. Reading a variety of topics can make you a more knowledgeable person, in turn improving your conversation skills.

5. Reading is Motivational

By reading books about protagonists who have overcome challenges, we are oftentimes encouraged to do the same. The right book can motivate you to never give up and stay positive, regardless of whether it’s a romance novel or a self-help book.

6. Reading Reduces Stress

Reading has the power to transport you to another world and away from the monotonous daily routine. By doing so, reading can decrease stress, lower heart rate and reduce blood pressure.

7. Reading Sets a Positive Example

Reading is a key component of early literacy development and you can set an example of just how crucial this is by modeling the behaviour yourself. Children are excellent at mimicking the adults around them which means that if you regularly set aside some "me time" for reading, your children will learn to do the same. 

8. Reading Teaches Empathy

Books allow us to experience realities outside of our lives. They teach us to relate to others by often putting us in the shoes of the narrator. This simple technique is called empathy. Empathy is defined as the ability to understand and share the feelings of another. Reading builds on empathy by constantly presenting us with thoughts and scenarios outside of our perspective. 

I am very happy that reading books is become one of my hobby now. It has a great impact to my every day life and it helps me to understand the subject that I am studying. Since programming has a lot of components I need to focus reading the documentations and understand the syntax. And btw I wanted to thanks this platform because it has a lot of articles, a useful articles about programming and life that's why read cash has a great impact also to my life!. I want to enhance my writing skills and become a creative person that's why I am investing time here on read cash writing and reading articles of other.

Probably the best time to express my self is by writing and read cash gives me the opportunity to do that. Sometimes I didn't have a time writing here on read cash because I am very busy answering my activities and doing coding but the best thing after doing that is visiting this platform and give myself a little break and share my thoughts.

Well that's it for today! I hope that I encourage you to read more books and fight against yourself on doing useless activities .

-Ceddy Lim-

1
$ 0.43
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ceddy-lim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ceddy-lim
1 year ago

Comments