My Crochet Progress

0 9
Avatar for CatCrochet
1 year ago

By Cat Crochet

I've been learning to crochet for years.

I progressed from simple coasters and shapes to being able to make my own dolls freehand or by following a pattern.

I remember being inspired to learn this craft by a strawberry key chain that a classmate had back in 2014.

My boyfriend at the time, who helped me make my amigurumis, was the motivation that kept me going.

Because I associate this craft with my past, I find it difficult to enjoy it at times.

It has become burdensome, and I feel as if I am doing it out of obligation.

Some people may experience this when their hobbies become a business, but in my case, it has gotten to the point where it no longer gives me the pleasure and satisfaction of creating something new like it used to.

Holding a yarn and a hook became tiresome.

I went on hiatus for several weeks, and my hectic graduate school schedule certainly didn't help.

But what keeps me going are the people who continue to support my craft and believe in my ability to create something beautiful.

People who value my progress as a crocheter.

I consider myself extremely fortunate to have discovered a community that is both supportive and welcoming.

Now, I'm regaining my enthusiasm, and even though I'm swamped with schoolwork and rarely have time to crochet, I'm beginning to enjoy it again.

I still have a long way to go, but I am looking forward to an exciting future.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for CatCrochet
1 year ago

Comments