The Dog Breeds That Bark The Most...And The Least

0 16
Avatar for CatAndDogTips
3 years ago
Topics: Dogs, Random, Quirky, Pets, Animals

I was asked recently my opinion as to which dog breeds bark the most and gave the answer that, in my experience, smaller breeds were the most likely to bark randomly.

It set me thinking that maybe my own experiences as a dog walker, trainer and behaviorist were just that...my own experiences and studies maybe showed that in the big canine picture most dogs were given to bark randomly at around the same level.

My research lead me to a book by Benjamin and Lynette Hart The Perfect Puppy: How To Choose Your Dog By It's Behaviour in which the authors had listed the dogs that were most and least likely to bark randomly without justification.

According to the book...

The least likely breeds to bark randomly were...

  • Akita

  • Bloodhound

  • Chesapeake Bay Retriever

  • Golden Retriever

  • Newfoundland

  • Rottweiler

And the most likely breed to bark randomly...

  • Beagle

  • Cairn Terrier

  • Fox Terrier

  • Miniature Schnauzer

  • West Highland White Terrier

  • Yorkshire Terrier

I also noted that many of the bigger breeds such as Labrador Retrievers, Great Danes and Malamutes ranked highly as least likely to bark randomly whilst the smaller breeds such as ChihuahuaPekinese and small Poodle breeds were rated more likely to be 'random barkers'.

1
$ 0.00

Comments