A Regret That Dog Owners May Want To Avoid

0 9
Avatar for CatAndDogTips
3 years ago
Topics: Dogs, Life, Advice, Pet First Aid, Pets, ...

Ever had a moment when somebody told you something that resonated so deeply that it changed something in you?

A few years ago, as a new pet first aid instructor, I delivered a course at a rescue center and I had such a moment.

After the typical introductions, it was customary to ask my attendees why they were attending and what they hoped to take from the pet first aid course.

More often than not the attendees would be people that worked with cats and dogs and many were looking for certification in skills to show their clients and employers that they were competent in the treatment of animal injuries.

Some attendees were simply pet owners that wanted to have knowledge of “what to do” should a situation arise involving their pets.

Whatever reasons people gave for their interest and attendance, it felt good to know that people were updating their skills to potentially help pets should an emergency arise.

My moment came when a smartly dressed lady at the back of the room was asked her reasons for attending.

The lady in question told us, with barely held emotion, how she had recently taken her much loved dog out for a woodland walk and the dog had simply ‘dropped dead’.

The lady went on to explain that the dog was later found to have died from natural causes and she didn’t now actually own any pets.

“Are you considering another pet?” I asked to satisfy my curiosity

What she said next stopped me in my tracks.

“No, my dog was my soulmate and I can’t bring myself to own another dog. I want to deal with the regret I felt at the time and help others avoid it.”

The lady explained that although her dog was found to have sadly passed from natural causes she had beaten herself up emotionally with the scenario of what if it hadn’t been natural? What could she actually have done? What if she could have influenced the event with CPR or something?

What she had decided to do as a legacy for her lost dog was to educate herself in pet first aid and had planned to share her story at talks and gatherings.

I could see the other attendees welling up as they calculated the fact that this kind woman had described her devastating loss but was here so that others could maybe avoid her heartbreak.

The tangible influence that this had on myself and the other attendees that day changed something in that room and beyond.

Many of the other attendees approached me afterwards and remarked how both saddened and uplifted they had been at the lady’s brave disclosure and her reason for attendance.

No longer an instructor, I now routinely pass on this woman’s story in the hope that it continues to resonate.

I aim to influence people that own cats or dogs to not suffer the regret of not being able to help their canine and feline friends in an emergency and often recommend a physical or online pet first aid course.

The legacy of that kind woman who touched myself and others that day is a motivating and inspiring reason why I continue to do so.

Pet first aid courses are generally low cost but the cost of regret is potentially immeasurable.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for CatAndDogTips
3 years ago
Topics: Dogs, Life, Advice, Pet First Aid, Pets, ...

Comments