Turning Your Hobby Into Business

2 44
Avatar for CarlosAndJane
2 years ago

Lately, I have been really into doing crochet. I have always wanted to learn how to crochet even back when I was in high school but, I didn't have the tools needed back then and I didn't know if they were cheap or expensive at that time. I kept trying to ask my mom to get me some crochet tools but she never paid attention. Now that I have a job, I realized that crochet tools aren't even that expensive!

I checked it from Shopee (one of the most famous online shops in the Philippines) and found out that a crochet beginner set only costs less than 400 pesos (where $1 = Php 50). At first, I was hesitant to order it because I have a lot of questions in my head like,

"What if I would never learn?"
"What if learning it is harder than I thought?"

"What if my money will just turn out to be a waste?"

But, I took the risk and ordered it anyway. And that was, perhaps the greatest decision I have ever made. I started watching videos on Youtube.

The first project I tried was supposedly a mini amigurumi heart but, I failed because I never learned how to do it. It was too difficult for me to handle. So, I started to switch to another project - something a little more beginner-friendly. So, I ended up making baby hats.

These were the first projects I made.

But, the very first baby hats that I made, I sent them to one of my friends from Noise.cash because he was the one who suggested me to make baby hats. And since his wife just gave birth at that time, I just gave it to him.

From there, I continued learning my crafts. I posted about them on Facebook and guess what? There are a lot of people who were inquiring how much they were and it all started from there.


PRICING

Pricing my products was really one of my weakness. As someone who hates math and numbers, it was never easy. Every time someone would ask me, "How much is it?" I would just smile and say "Let me calculate it first." My first products were way too cheap. But, that was something that also helped me get my products be known. But now, I am starting to increase my pricing a bit (but I still have trouble sometimes).


TIME MANAGEMENT

Time management is also a very important thing because I do not only crochet. I have another job, too. And there are some customers who needs their products on a specific period of time. It was a bit hard to manage my time because I am someone who would really not stop working unless I finish everything. I had so many sleepless nights. I know it isn't a good thing but, well, that's just me.


MY PRODUCTS GALLERY

Sunflower Bandana, Earrings, and Hair Tie
Phone Pouch

Earrings
Sunflowers
Beanies

WHAT I HAVE LEARNED

In doing business, it isn't always a happy one - there will be times that there will be no people who will order from you, there will be people who will all of a sudden cancel their orders after you finish making them, there will be some times when you get tired. But, let us always continue and push through it because one day, the customers will just come right up. Just keep believing in yourself and make yourself become better at what you do every single day.

Never give up!

Fighting!

Love lots,

Jane 🌻🌻

5
$ 5.78
$ 5.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of CarlosAndJane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CarlosAndJane
2 years ago

Comments

Congrats dai. Successful imong business... Ang.importante ani kay love nimo ang imong gibuhat so no matter what, mocontinue jpon ka... Aja God bless

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes dai. Hihi :) Thanks dai. God bless you too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago