My Day: Celebrating My Grandma's 84th Birthday :)

5 33
Avatar for CarlosAndJane
2 years ago

Today was my grandma's 84th birthday. Well, yes, she is 84 years old now. I wasn't able to take photos there since we got really busy.

So this is how my day went:

First things first, we did a serenade in the morning. In my dialect, we call it "Manyanita". This is a tradition Filipinos have. So basically, we serenade the birthday celebrators before the sunrise of their birthday. It is kind of like, waking them up with your songs. It kind of reminds me of the tradition "Harana" but the difference was that "Harana" is for courtship. It makes me so happy that these kind of tradition is still alive up until this day. However, also a bit sad because only very few people are still following this. I hope this kind of tradition will never grow old because seriously, it is such a great tradition. :)

So, we were there, singing and waiting for my grandma to open up the door. When she did, I could really see how happy she was - she's even teary-eyed because of happiness.

Then, we went inside and shared the food that we have brought with us. It is such a great way to bond with the family.

Here's a hot chocolate prepared by my aunt. It is made of pure cocoa. :) It's so good. :)
And of course, some food to pair up with the hot chocolate. :)

Afterwards, we went back to our homes and went back to my grandma's house again for dinner. :) There, we sang more birthday songs for my grandma and just celebrating her birthday to thank God for the years He has given my grandma.

So, here's what I had for dinner. :)

Few months ago, my grandma keep telling that she might not be able to reach her birthday anymore since she is getting weaker and weaker but, hey, SHE DID!!!

And there I realized...

We never really know when our time on Earth will be - only God knows. We should always treasure the days we have here on Earth and be thankful for every day that God has allowed us to borrow this life we have. We should continue to be a blessing to others and not a headache. Just like my grandma, I hope we would all live a long and happy life on this Earth and enjoy life together with our loved ones. :)

Have a blessed night to you! :)

Love lots,

Jane 🌻🌻

2
$ 1.29
$ 1.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of CarlosAndJane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CarlosAndJane
2 years ago

Comments

By the way dai.. ichecj daw if nakareciv ka notif about sa sponsorship nako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo dai. Naka receive ko. Hihi 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe ok dai

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi dai..iam glad nakapost na sad ka dre... happy birthday sa imong lola..we still do manyanita too but due to tbe pandemic, nastop na sd..nindot sa feeling baya na kantahan uy . hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi jud dai ayy. Pero dria, kasagari, mga tigulang na man lang gina manyanitahan pud. Sabay sabay ra pud mga batan.on. 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago