Making ends meet

1 11
Avatar for Calvary
1 year ago

I was at the local market today. Not to purchase or sell foodstuff or fabric or the ten billion other things that one can get in a local marketplace, I was there to sell a plan.

My friend had informed me the day before of an opportunity to make some money by marketing a corporative society's savings and loan plan to the local businesses around New Benin market(a popular market in Benin City, Edo state).

I was at first hesitant, because while I was very much confident in my communication skills, I had never had to sell a savings plan to anyone before. The only experience that came close was a wide area feasibility study I was part of in 2020.

It might come across as strange or a little too dramatic that I had such concerns, but there was a pretty good reason for that; Pidgin english.

"Drop your perfect diction and your polished grammar when you get there o, na local market we wan enter so. So na pidgin you go use follow them talk. Shebi you dey hear me?"

Almost immediately, the clock in my head, spinning in reverse direction so fast I could barely keep up, began to remind me of all my awkward attempts at holding a complete conversation in pidgin.

"Well, this ought to be interesting" I thought to myself as I gave a small smile and said I understood. Soon enough, after receiving instructions on how to carry out the task, we set out, feeling completely ready to storm the marketplace.

If you've never been to Nigeria, I should tell you, our local marketplaces are one of the most exciting parts of the country, for anyone who'd like to get an actual feel of the Nigerian spirit. It's definitely something to experience.

I should also warn you, the local market is only kind to those who understand the unspoken dynamics of navigating the Nigerian marketplace. Without a guide, a first timer might get almost completely drowned in the beautiful chaos.

At the marketplace junction, we were split into teams and given registration materials for prospective customers. I crossed the busy market road with my friend and another energetic young lady, ready to play my part.

As we stepped into the first stall and exchanged pleasantries with the young man who owned the business, I said a little prayer in my heart and whispered softly to myself;

"Here goes nothing"

To be continued...

Pidgin Dictionary

  • Na local market we wan enter so - it's the local market we are about to enter.

  • So na pidgin you go use follow them talk - So you'll have to speak to them with local English.

  • Shebi you dey hear me - I hope you understand me

THANK YOU FOR READING THROUGH

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Calvary
1 year ago

Comments

Wow, it's such a strange way to make money that I've never heard of it before But at the same time it is a beautiful idea, but it needs someone with a strong personality who knows how to convince

$ 0.00
1 year ago