Mental Health series.

2 15
Avatar for Calabar_son
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Mental health series

Depression is the persistent feeling of sadness.

It feels like an abundance of bitterness. Depression in my experience feels like existing without time. Just continuous drowning in darkness. When I first got depressed, I honestly didn't know that there was word like depression. I only knew that I already dreaded the day before I fall asleep.

I only knew that my pillow was constantly wet. I constantly drifted out, staring into space like a seer during the day.

Depression blends time with sadness so that you no longer keep records of time. It got to a point my body mastered the time for each feeling.

Depression varies for different people and has different stages for people.

In my experience, it started with the crying stage where I cried about everything. Next I entered the smiling stage where I couldn't show my emotions to anyone because a lot of people are looking up to me for emotional support.

The last stage was the acceptance stage. Here I got used to it. I could no longer cry.

Depression isn't same as mood swings but mood swing is just a few percentage of depression.

Mood swings clear by morning. Sadness from depression is persistent till morning.

Mood swings don't affect your activities, depression interrupts your life.

Mood swings don't last long, depression does.

Mood swings is a mixture of many emotions; a rapid switch between those emotions. Depression is a strong feeling of sadness. It's persistent.

Depression is the slow eroding of oneself.

Now we've looked at depression beyond the medical field. We've looked at it through the eyes of our own terms.

Feel free to describe your own experience in the comment section.

Tomorrow we will look at the symptoms.

Don't forget to share.

Someone might need it.

#Yourmentalhealthmatters.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Calabar_son
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments

Absolutely true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago