Mechanical v. Digital

11 40
Avatar for Cain
Written by
4 years ago

Monday, May 4, 2020

Years ago, my wife and I went on a date to the Griffith Observatory, and while walking around that evening we came upon a guy set up on the grass with this fancy telescope pointed at the night sky.

"Hey, you guys want to see Saturn?" he asked.

"Okay, sure," I said.

So my wife and I both took a look through the telescope and we were amazed by how clear the image was. It was as crystal clear as the lead image of this article. In fact it was so clear I felt like I was looking at a picture of Saturn rather than Saturn itself.

Then the guy said something about the telescope being digital, and suddenly I felt like I'd been cheated. Like what I was looking at was a photo as opposed to the real thing.

To this day, I still think about that experience and wonder what makes something real versus fake?

For example, when you hear the sound of an actual piano versus a digital keyboard, is one more real than the other because of the way the sound is being produced? While the sound you hear from a piano is made by a mallet tapping on a set of strings, is the sound made by the digital piano less real because it is merely a copy or reproduction of what a real piano sounds like?

If I'd been looking through a regular telescope and saw Saturn by way of the light waves directly hitting my retina, is that more real than the light waves hitting a sensor inside the telescope which generates an image for me to look at?

I don't know what I'm trying to get at. Just something I was thinking about on this Monday morning as I start the eighth week of my lockdown.

8
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @Koush

Comments

Cain, friend. I fully understand your point. Everything is so relative. As the truth of things and reality is not the same for everyone. Even, the laws of classical physics are totally challenged today, the quantum physics that also exists and true. But none is absolute. Thus, nothing is absolute and each thing has its importance and reason for being. A greeting.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks for reading Ramon.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

🤯

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I was looking at the big moon the other day. Love the detail of the craters and sometimes appears like objects go by. But then its just home telescope a 14 year old boy had.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

What we see with our eyes is actually very similar to a digital image. light (electromagnetic radiation) is captured by the cells on our retina. This image is captured in the form of electrical impulses and in fact conveyed as such to our brain. The real question is whether what we is actuality how the object looks like? I don't know.... I am on a journey too :-)

$ 0.25
4 years ago

Yup, I was thinking along those lines as well. Basically our brains are like just another computer.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

We have no idea what the object look like. What our retina is catching is just various wavelengths of light. The brain then presents to us a representation of those nervous signals. There is no reason at all for us to believe that representation to be reality. It is what we perceive and that is useful for us. That's all we know.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

That's the power of technology, @cain! In short, some digital products or pictures are true replica of real objects.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I'd rather look at the real thing though.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

That's very good! Keep up the good work. Promote BCH the more, the reward is excellent.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I was also so surprised actually real or fake, is it possible that technological sophistication might also be all the greatness of God.

$ 0.00
4 years ago