3 Animals

2 179
Avatar for Cain
Written by
4 years ago

I want you to think of an animal, the first animal that comes to your head. Got it?

Now think of a second animal.

And now a third and final animal.

Write them down, or feel free to post a comment below with the three animals you came up with.

Here are mine: wolf, coyote, skunk

I was at a gathering when someone asked each of us to do what I just asked of you. According to them, the first animal is how you perceive yourself, the second animal is how others perceive you, and the third animal is what you really are.

I'm paraphrasing, but this is what my friend said of my answers: "You see yourself as this cool lone wolf type, while others see you more as a lone coyote, you know scrounging around in the trash and stuff to survive, but what you really are is a skunk, someone who will occasionally release his stink to get others to back off."

I couldn't stop laughing when he told me this so I thought I'd share here with the read.cash community. What 3 animals did you come up with?

3
$ 0.61
$ 0.50 from @im_uname
$ 0.11 from @Koush

Comments

Ferret, dog, cheetah.

So I think I'm a happy, bouncy ferret, people see me as an obedient dog, but I'm a dangerous predator?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know this test. I actually wanted to write about it here as well. Glad to see someone else know about it, too.

I would just add these two things about how I learned it, which seem to be missing: the last animal is more like what you will or want to grow into. It is what you "really" are, but also you may have to get to be it.

  • And you should actually have been asked to give those three animals some personality traits or explain, why you've chosen it. This also reveals your inner thoughts. It is really true, the animal you think of is of course part of yourself, just like a book character resembles some personality trait of a writer. Makes sense, right? And when you think about why you chose the animal, you'll think first of the traits that you have or care about the most.

  • And may I suggest you tell the reader to not go on with the text, before he wrote down the animals? If you know in advance what is going on I think it would skew the results.

So, that being said, when I was asked about this I came up with these:

Dog, Dolphin, Turtle

🐕‍🦺The Dog, because it protects

🐬The Dolphin, because it is full of love

🐢The Turtle, because it always stays calm.

I have not managed the last stage yet.

$ 0.10
3 years ago