My Personal Story of Unidentifiable Diversity

0 13
Avatar for CYBER_AUGUR
2 years ago
Topics: Facts

This is my very first article on this website. Although I have a love for everything blockchain I decided my first article would be about my upbringing and view of the status quo.

I have dealt with looking like a young child my whole life (pretty much a 20-21 year old white American idiot), when in reality I am 33 and a first generation immigrant from Trinidad & Tobago. I am also adopted and met my biological family, it turns out I am 1/16th Mexican, and my last name would have been Aguilar.

Upon finding that my biological father had 3 abortions with 3 different girls before me makes me feel unexplainably blessed. (That is a 25% chance of living)

My Parents are both Immigrants with no degrees. Pops' worked his way off the Island by becoming a "Rig Rat." He and my Mother travelled the world for his job; living in such places as Brazil, Scotland, and Houston.

My Mother and Father Adopted my Older sister and I when we were living in Texas. Before this they attained Citizenship. The gratitude I owe my Mother and Father & the realization of the tremendous hurdles they jumped for me and my sister is tear jerking. (My Mother was not able to have children.)

When I was in Kindergarten we got transferred from Houston to Aberdeen, Scotland. Most of my formative years were spent in Scotland (K-6 grade) and Trinidad for 3 months every summer. I view Trinidad as my "home" since my whole family lives there and have for generations.

I dislike people complaining about externalities that have nothing to do with the content of their soul. I don't care what you look like I care if you are honest, patient, and kind.

Back to looking young, I have been humiliated, every place I have to show my I.D. I get the same answer every time someone asks my age. "NO YOU'RE NOT, let me see your I.D.?" Being a 33 year old and getting poured a glass of milk at the bar in front of associates should be a hate crime. This actually happened to me. My training kicked in though and I asked him for chocolate syrup : ).

Anyway all I have to say is that it takes away from my credibility especially in the workplace.

As a society we NEED to get over labels and statistics that only leads to more hate and more judgment. Coming from someone who experiences wrongful judgement based merely on looks, I can tell you that it does negatively affect your life. Our world would be a much better place if we read the book before we judged it.

-ONE LOVE and BLESSINGS

-Stephen Michael

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for CYBER_AUGUR
2 years ago
Topics: Facts

Comments