Woodworking. Something I don't like before turn into my hobbies

1 32
Avatar for Busy.idle
2 years ago

back in the 90s between 1995 - 1996 when I was in the last year of my elementary school my father liked working at home making things from wood, between hobbies and orders my father received were mostly making wardrobes, kitchen cabinets, and drawers, he like making swords toys for me. my father always used manual tools or hand tools for his woodworking, and at that time all I knew was that the only tools for woodworking were manual hand tools.

every time I came home from school I was always forced to help my father with his woodworking, whether it was helping to cut with a saw, drill holes and smooth the surface with sandpaper. all must be done without error, or I will get scolded by then. sawing and drilling must be straight and precise, all with laborious manual tools. and so on until I was in junior high school from 1996 to 1999.
Since then I have always considered woodworking as very tiring and annoying (because I felt compelled to do it).

when I was in high school in 2000, my father rarely even not did his woodcraft activities anymore. and all the equipment one by one disappeared somewhere, maybe most were borrowed by neighbors or friends and never came back. we the children never pay attention to it, only the father who often asks where his woodworking tools went.

After more than 10 years, after my mother died in 2010, my brother and I planned to renovate the front room of the house for business needs. and my brother then bought the necessities for the renovation, such as the materials needed, and also included the equipment needed for the renovation work

This is where my perception changes from someone who thinks woodworking is annoying to become someone who likes woodworking.
it started when my brother bought an electric drill yes the electric drill wasn't too special.

the first electric drill my brother bought that blew me away

but it amazes me, for the first time I just found out that there are electrical equipment such as power tools
there I was amazed that there are woodworking tools that use electricity that does not rely on human power for their operation, I mean literally human power strength and energy

since then I started looking for electric saws, sanding machines, and all kinds of electrical equipment (power tools) used for woodworking.

I said to myself that I was very stupid, why did I only know this now, surely a tool like this has already existed, maybe because I got the wrong initial impression about woodworking from my father when I was little, so at that time I didn't really care about woodworking equipment and its development.
Then I was determined to be able to buy and collect these power tools for myself, I feel like I have a new hobby after knowing these power tools equipment

But it turned out to be not as easy as I imagined, the price of electrical equipment at that time was still expensive and my income required me to save first to be able to buy the equipment. after 1 year I finally can buy my first electric appliance. circular saw DEWALT

The very first time power tool i bought (around 2012 - 2013)

this is the first power tool I have with my own money, apart from the drill that my brother bought, which of course I asked to be mine. so now I have 2 power tools
like a child who just got a toy, even this circular saw when I was at home for the first time I brought it to sleep next to me...lol

After having this electric tool (power tools) and others, my woodworking skills have also developed, it is undeniable that the hard lessons I used to get from my father turned out to be my knowledge to be able to do this woodworking hobby.
but there's one thing I can't do, I've never shaving wood, my dad always did it himself. So until now, even though I have used an electric tool, I am still not fluent in using an electric hand planner.

along the way, many electrical tools (power tools) that I collected but never lasted long, with the ups and downs of finances in my married home, electric tools (power tools) came and went. Buy, sell, buy again and sell again like that until now.

funny to me how can something that I used to dislike and even say I hate, can now become a hobby and sometimes become an income for me and also a lot of knowledge and learning that I was used to getting from my father, which I don't know will be useful at this time

this is my real story, thanks for reading this

keep woodworking, keep dusting and keep healthy

6
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Alther
Avatar for Busy.idle
2 years ago

Comments

Lovely to see your journey through hating it to making it a part of your life.

$ 0.00
User's avatar a2j
2 years ago