Ledger Not Syncing? Look at your browser version.

0 28
Avatar for BryRi
Written by
2 years ago

Browser versions and Ledger - This will be a quick post, but figured out something today that has been stumping me for literally months.

In August 2021 I had parked some stable coin in a few projects that I had been eyeing, one of which being XinFin (definitely not advice).

I used my ledger, which at the time used the ETH app for XDC, much like Theta and a few other projects, parked the XDC and then left it for a month and was planning to capture some gains.

When I went to withdraw from the XDC wallet, the ledger wouldn't recognize. I tried all the tricks, different browsers, entering the seed phrase, updating ledger live, ledger app's and even checking the browser versions, etc. I worked with one of the XDC dev's and another and another. They literally told me I was crazy and that I had forgotten a seed phrase, password or something else.

Plausible, but not possible.

Heck, I even bugged trusted source on it and he said that it was literally impossible, what I was talking about... So in defeat I left it. A big bag of XDC sacrifice to the crypto spirits and time to move on.

Today, I had this feeling come over me that "What if" - I reverted back to a previous browser version which of itself is an adventure to uninstall and find the older version to install. I found it on Slimjet!

Let's just say it took less than 5 minutes with no changes in passphrase, etc and there it is. Access!


I share this story because in the recent weeks I have worked with many 1:1 to unpack all of the blockages being exposed with "unrealized" losses. For me, while the recouped capital is the reward, the lesson and much bigger benefit to all of this was to drop the ego and let the guides show the way, especially when it comes to your hardware wallet.

1
$ 1.05
$ 1.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of BryRi
empty
empty
empty

Comments