Christmas Miracles.

2 7
Avatar for Bounty19
2 years ago

People can create miracles for others in need by being their caring selves.

I want to share two stories with strong moral lessons with you, I learned from a Resource Person training I attended in Ghana. These stories portray about the concept of universal participation and thinking about the well-being of others.

A certain company has a tradition of holding a party and a lottery every Christmas Eve. The rules of the lottery draw are as follows: Each employee pays 10 dollars into the funds. There are three hundred people in the company. In other words, a total of three thousand dollars can be raised. The winner takes all the money home.

On the day of the lottery draw, the office was filled with a lively atmosphere. Everyone wrote names on a slip of paper and put them in the lottery box.

However, a young man named Karl hesitated when he wrote on his slip of paper. He was thinking about the cleaner who had a frail and sickly son who was supposed to have an operation soon but the cleaner did not have the money to pay for that operation. This had made her very trouble and sad.

So, after thinking about it and even though Karl knew that the odds of winning were very slim only three percent chance, Karl wrote the name of the cleaner on his paper. Finally, the exciting and tense moment came to choose the winner.

The boss stirred the slips in the lottery box and finally drew out one note.

Meanwhile, Karl kept praying in his heart. 'I hope the cleaner can win the prize...

The boss announced the winner's name. A miracle had happened! The winner turned out to be the cleaner!

Cheers broke out in the office and the cleaner hurriedly came to the stage to accept the prize. She burst into tears and said with great emotion: I am so blessed! With this money, my son has a chance to live!

As the party went on and thinking about this 'Christmas Miracle', Karl went to the lottery box. He took out a piece of paper and opened it casually. The name on it was also the name of the cleaner.! Karl was very surprised. He took out several pieces of paper, one after another. Although the handwriting on them was all different, the names were all the same. All of them were the name of the cleaner! Karl's eyes welled up with tears of joy. He suddenly understood that there was truly a Christmas Miracle, but the miracle did not descend from the above.

Story Two

One afternoon, I went for a walk with a friend in his neighborhood. Suddenly, an old man in tattered clothes approached with a bag of green vegetables in his hand. These vegetables looked very poor, the leaves were dehydrated and yellow, and there were holes in them that appeared to be from bugs. To my surprise my friend bought three bags without saying a word about their quality. The old man humbly explained, "I grew these vegetables myself but it rained a lot a while ago and the vegetables crops were soaked. They looked very ugly. I'm sorry.

After the old man left, I asked my friend: " will you really eat these vegetables when you get home? He said "No these vegetables can no longer be eaten then why did you buy them? He said, because no one else will buy these vegetables. If I don't buy them, the old man will probably have no income.

I was filled with admiration for my friends good deed. So I caught up with the old man and bought more vegetables from him. The old man said happily, " I been trying to sell them all day, and only you two are are willing to buy them. Thank you so much. You have put food on the table for me and my family.

When I heard these words from the old man, I was moved to tears. This is how some few handfuls of green vegetables, that i couldn't eat at all, taught me a very valuable lesson.

When we are at a low ebb, we all hope that miracles will happen to us, but when we are capable, are we willing to be the ones who creates miracles for others.

3
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
Sponsors of Bounty19
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bounty19
2 years ago

Comments

You and your friend are two good people! Xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are amazing stories and especially that of yours. The world is filled with awesome souls just like you and your friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago