My part in the pay it forward chain

1 9
Avatar for BoscoBen
1 year ago

Growing up as a kid I never really enjoyed going to school nor staying at school, I would seize every opportunity I had to do whatever pleases me other than learning, the surprising thing about this behaviour of mine was that even though I never really enjoyed learning, my overall performance at the end of every academic session was not bad at all, on several occasions I even ended up being among the top five in the class. I was too young to notice the cause of this effect at the time, but when I grew pass that stage and got admitted into the higher institution, there was this faithful day I was studying for a test which was to be taken the next day it was early hours of the morning ( some minutes past 3am) and I was finding it difficult to comprehend this particular topic in one of my mathematical courses, almost as clear as if the person was sitting next to me I heard a voice said " why not take break from it and come back", I looked around and couldn't find anyone close enough to have said that, then I realized it was all in my head the very word my Primary school teacher "Aunty Faith"( as we were found of calling her) always use to say whenever we have been on a particular concept for too long and there seems not to be progress.

Aunty Faith was average height, dark in complexion, always wearing a smile on her face, she was one of the teachers in our school back then, she was a disciplinarian,but most pupils still see her as their favourite, I wasn't an exception. Aunty Faith will always stay back with me and two other pupils after school had dismissed, teaching us to understand difficult concepts,we hated her for this because we felt cheated while our friends had gone home to eat and play( that was all we do when we get back from school till night falls), we were still in school with Aunty Faith struggling to understand difficult concepts.

When we get tired and loose focus she will always say "why not take break from it and come back", this became our favourite phrase as it gives us room to do a lot away from learning but it was never for too long and we are back to continue,but one surprising thing was this; that the concepts seems easier when we come back to it after a brief break away from it. And with this, gradually learning became fun as there were always times to be away from it before we get back to it, and so we grew up to continue with this practice. All this she did we later got to know it was for no extra pay.

And so on this very day surprisingly just like old times when I took a break and got back I was able to figure out the calculations. There and then I promised myself I was going to pass this forward to help some other students, and I meant it.

Four months after this incident, my school went on strike for six months,and we were all forced to go back home during this period I took a job in a school not too far from my house, I was to teach mathematics, and there I got my chance and I passed on to my students what Aunty Faith had passed to me without an extra pay I will stay extra hours making sure those students who didn't comprehend all that was thought during normal lesson hours were given more explanation and I could see the smile of satisfaction on their faces, and I felt fulfilled.when the strike was called off I had to go back to school, the sadness on their faces touched my soul but there was no way I could have stayed back.

In summary

Paying it forward is simply repaying kindness received to others. This is just one of such for me I hope and plan to do more in other areas. The big question today is has anyone ever extended a kind gesture towards you? If yes how do plan to extend it to someone else?

Remember everybody needs help from

somebody.

No wonder Henry Burton wrote:

Have you had a kindness shown?

Pass it on.

‘Twas not given for thee alone,

Pass it on.

Let it travel down the years,

Let it wipe another’s tears,

Till in heaven the deed appears—

Pass it on.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for BoscoBen
1 year ago

Comments

My man. I just finished reading this beautiful article and I’m so much pleased with it’s content.

Yes we should always pay it forward and forward only kindness. It’s a common practice for people to pay evil done to them to others, but we should neglect the evil and always continue to pay kindness forward.

$ 0.00
1 year ago