To Good to Go App

0 17
Avatar for BluMela
1 year ago

Hi guys tonight we venture into the world of applications, the beloved and hated applications that have now invaded any of our devices from telephones to televisions to car radios to watches.

More or less useful, more or less beautiful, free for a fee, games, fitness, food and anything you can think of, here it is in our App store or Google play.

Today I want to talk to you about an App that in my opinion is perhaps among the most useful Apps of the moment and for the future, I am in Italy and I don't know if this App is present all over the world or not, if it wasn't, I believe that it should be extended to everyone because I believe it is a real revolution.

Enough with the chatter and let's start with this review, it's called:

“TO GOOD TO GO”

Which translated means "TOO GOOD TO THROW IT".

This app, as reported on the official website, has a mission that I fully embrace, that of trying to waste as little food as possible ...

BUT HOW?

Every day bars, greengrocers, bakers, restaurants, pastry shops, grocery stores and wherever there is food to sell, have to throw in the garbage an enormous quantity of food because it is too mature, not fresh, with a very short shelf-life and which is not sold in a reasonable time.


WHAT DOES THIS APP DO?

This app allows traders not to waste this food at the end of its life but still good to be tasted and to make MAGIC BOXES with these products or boxes with surprise contents for those who buy them, or rather, a magic box of a greengrocer will contain fruit and vegetables, while that of a sushi restaurant will mainly contain fish and that of a bakery will contain sweet and/or savoury baked goods, and from time to time it will never be the same because precisely linked to the products that the trader must sell immediately.

These MAGIC BOXES are sold for about one-third of the price of their real value. Practically a box containing food for a value of 15 euros, for example, you can buy it for just under 5 euros and I assure you, I tested my first Magic Box last week, that the box is advantageous for the merchant because it succeeds. to earn something from food that he would throw away and advantageous for those who buy who find themselves tasty food at a bargain price.

I bought a greengrocer's MAGIC BOX and when I went to collect it, to my great surprise and amazement, I found myself with a bag full of wonders: a basket of ripe pears, apples, some peaches, three carousels of salad, two peppers, a bunch of radishes, a jar of apricot jam, zucchini, dried figs, onions and tomatoes, I almost couldn't lift the bag from the weight...

LET'S SEE THE APP IN DETAIL

  • Once you have downloaded and logged in, at the bottom, there are four menus, the first is "DISCOVER" that is, it shows you the MAGIC BOXES available nearby with the name of the shop, type and price.

  • In the second menu, you can decide in which geographical area to search and in what range of action: wherever you are you can search in the area in which you are by entering the radius for which you are willing to move.

  • The third menu is where you find your favourite shopkeepers, to which you have set your preference.
    In my favourite there is the greengrocer where I made my first purchase and which made me happy ... I couldn't help but put my heart! :)

  • Finally, the fourth menu is the detail of your profile with some interesting info such as the money saved and the CO2e (carbon dioxide equivalent) saved.

Once you have chosen the magic box to purchase, payment must be made by credit card or PayPal or Apple Pay and must be validated, after which you will have to go to the selected store at the time indicated for collection. Yes, because the withdrawal is usually within the day or the day following the purchase, in a specific time slot.


Reflection:
We live in a world of waste, of too much waste and I think this initiative is a genius to try to reduce it.
Furthermore, traders have an economic gain, even if small, for something they should throw away and that would not return them anything, and those who buy do it at a great price, finding themselves good goods (clearly to be consumed in a short time) and the taste of surprise.
But the best thing about this app is in terms of sustainability: not only does it decrease the waste of food thrown away but it also decreases the consumption of carbon dioxide and all other greenhouse gases. For example, my purchase weighing about 3 kg (as shown in the photo below) corresponds to a saving of 65 kWh of electricity or 442 full recharges of a smartphone or 22 cups of coffee or the time of a hot shower heated by an electric boiler.
(for the calculation of CO2e saved they collaborated with MY CLIMATE as described in the picture)

In my opinion, this app is a real genius !! The only flaw I find there is not being able to pay in cash at the time of withdrawal but let's face it you can overlook this thing: cash is no longer so fundamental, on the contrary.
A crazy app that I will continue to use and that I hope is working all over the world ... I have not done research about it but I am waiting for your comments to find out more if there is something similar to this or even this app!

See you next friends app!

The photos are screenshots in my possession taken in the app or photos taken by me.

1
$ 0.37
$ 0.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for BluMela
1 year ago

Comments