The travelling lighter

0 21
Avatar for BluMela
2 years ago

Hi guys, I have not known for a while but commitments and events that are not entirely pleasant have led me a little away from the web!

We repair from here with new stories and resuming the old ones, inserting some contests and telling a little about what my life is, my thoughts and my passions.

For some time I have come to mind the unhealthy idea of ​​trying to write a story and thinking and rethinking one day I found myself staring at a lighter that I was holding in my hand and that was not mine.

From there the idea started because I started to think where it came from who I had stolen unintentionally or who had given it to me or lent it ... I just didn't remember.

How many lighters travel the world from pocket to pocket and how many stories they hear of all kinds, from this lighter I took inspiration for these short stories and today we start from the first one, from this orange light that will travel the world finding itself in always different hands and in situations definitely different from each other.

Sicuramente sarà capitato anche a voi di ritrovarvi un accendino in tasca non vostro o di perderne qualcuno o di prestarlo e non riceverlo più indietro a me parecchie volte mi ritrovavo a volte con dieci accendini in tasca mente altre volte con zero imprecando control achi me lo aveva rubato :)

Ci tengo a precisare che soon stories di fantasia e che nomi luoghi o cose citate soon del tutto casuali.

THE JOURNEY OF THE LIGHTER - part 1

It is a spring day, the scents mix in the air, the colours face the new season with small flowers that take strength and the trees that are dressed in their best dress made of green leaves of every shade and shape.
It is late afternoon but the days are starting to get longer and the sun still shines in the sky and a siren sounds the end of the shift in a company.
A big red door opens and you can see two boys who mark their tags and go out making the door close behind them, Dani the younger of the two, just twenty-two years old, approaches Kevin smiling who returns the smile, both happy that you have finished another day of work.
Kevin asks Dani: “Hey man do you have a lighter? I must have forgotten mine in the locker .. "
Dani, without thinking too much, hands him an orange lighter, Kevin with a movement of the head from bottom to top thanks him, takes the lighter and lights a cigarette, starting to talk about work, about the wrong things, about the things that would change holding the lighter in his hands.
Dani nods in agreement with Kevin but then cuts him off:
“Kevin the shift is over let's leave these breakups behind. Rather… have you heard of Sofi? "
Kevin falls silent instantly and replies, "No what happened?"
Dani: "he gave up everything and everyone including his family to try to follow his dream"
Kevin: "What do you mean?"
Dani: "She left for America saying she wanted to try to change her life"
Kevin remains speechless, restless, agitated, takes a big drag on his cigarette which he then puts out and throws into the ashtray as he exits the company.
Dani: “What's going on Kevin? I see you agitated !? "
Kevin: "See Dani ... I'm in love with that girl"
Meanwhile, he lights a second cigarette putting the lighter in his pocket and continued...
Kevin: "Fuck I can't believe it today? ... Today that I had decided to expose myself? Tonight I would have invited her for a coffee or a beer who cares... I wanted to open up and take what was coming but I wanted to do it because it's stupid not to. . why didn't I do it before? "
Dani: "Kevin, can I do something for you? I'm sorry to see you like this .."
Kevin: "No Dani thanks ... I'm a jerk I postponed as always, I postponed and as always I lost the moment .."
A few seconds of silence and Kevin continued: "Maybe nothing would have changed ... maybe ... or maybe everything, I'll never know and now I'm tormented by the ifs and buts .. but above all ... I'll miss that smile".
Dani: "I'm sorry Kevin"
Kevin: "Quiet my friend and I'm sorry if I say goodbye now but I need to be with my thoughts, I need to find a zero to start over".
Kevin said goodbye to Dani who, saddened by his friend's mood, started up his Vespa Primavera and set off gear by gear towards home.
Kevin sat at the tram stop, waiting, even though he didn't know what he was waiting for and another grunt came out of his mouth: "That's what I can do ... wait ... wait to lose things, people. that I love".

That day something breaks in Kevin and how many seasons ahead of him he would have waited at that tram stop... it's winter now .. and Kevin still stops at that bench, sitting in the cold, while an orange lighter falls from his pocket.

2
$ 2.47
$ 2.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for BluMela
2 years ago

Comments