Trattoria Calabria - Loved the food, liked the experience, disliked the details.

0 12
Avatar for Blind
Written by
2 years ago

The Italian chain has been popping up in many places within Kharkov. The last time I saw one of these was in Dubai. Since Dubai is very well saturated with different restaurants, I never made my way into a Trattoria. However, nice things are still on the rise in Kharkov, and Trattoria caught my eye.


This branch is located in one of the faster-developing areas of Kharkiv. The location is filled with newly renovated stores, brilliant lights, and a plethora of new real estate developments.
I believe there will be many nicer businesses marking their spot in this area.

The restaurant has gone for the trendy contemporary exterior with all the branches. I love the matt black and I can see why others like myself would be attracted to the Italian restaurant.

The reason I always specifically point out the decorations, design and even accents of a restaurant is because they do play a huge role in influencing my experience. I do not go to eat, I go to a restaurant expecting to enjoy my time there.

I believe this branch of Trattoria will truly peak in the summer. I can already see how the bright days and the open window-style of the restaurant will be a terrific match.

It is going to be a nice place for morning breakfasts or evening teas, on the seatings outside, while overlooking the birds in the trees or giving in to the static of the metropolitan.

I wouldn't say I am the biggest fan of the interior. I was expecting more, tbh. However, it is still not disappointing. It follows a similar contemporary attempt to match the outside, the vents and dark ceiling play along.

The lights, however, are a cheap attempt at achieving minimalism, modernism, and sleekness. They really do not do justice to a restaurant, which should be well lit to stimulate the sympathetic system of the body. But it does keep the mood within the restaurant quiet and very shy.

The restaurant has been divided into sections with differing designs. I could see myself enjoying dinner on the very table I sat, whereas I would enjoy the morning news bulletins with a coffee and croissant on the smaller tables with the couches.

The bar was pretty cool, though. The menu is drawn with chalk on an overhead blackboard. On the other side, you have a fresh bakery. You can watch your strudel or pizza get prepared there while your cocktail or coffee gets worked on.

I would prefer to have some bar stools. But it would completely kill the restaurant and give birth to a typical bar. Happens way too often here.

The menu really went against the signboard. There isn't any "street food". Well, it depends on what you consider street food. It still primarily focuses on Italian cuisine. Pasta, pizza, lasagna, salads, and cocktails. A few must-have snacks, bread, and beverages along with the rest.

In the menu, two things stood out. Free water and add-ons. Yes, free water isn't a thing here and add-on or toppings are never really a customizable option that is mentioned on the menu.

I decided to go with two kinds of pasta and a margarita pizza. The margarita pizza is a limiting factor to me. If the margarita pizza is done close to an original one that you find in Italy, the restaurant automatically rises to an S tier on the pizza list.

The pasta looked great and tasted better. A white sauce fettuccini with beef and the other was linguine with mushrooms and chicken. Albeit the menu isn't very detailed, I'll let it pass. English isn't a common language here, yet. And the waiters do a good job of explaining what the dish consists of if prompted.

However, I wasn't a fan of the blue plating. The food looked great. The sky blue just didn't do it for me.
The pasta were smoking fresh and very tasteful. Clearly not something you could expect to make at home as an amateur. Portion sizes were comfortable. Meat, very very good.

I would say the margarita was A tier. Not too far away from the original, but not exactly on point. The flavor was there, the oozing oil was there, the randomness of the mozzarella was there. The dough is a machine prepared, and tomatoes and basil were nonexistent. Still, a jolly good margarita pizza.

The entire meal cost me UAH 227, which is roughly $8. If that isn't a bargain then what is?

TLDR;

Trattoria has served me well. I loved the food and it comes close to some of the best tastings I have done. The pasta was excellent and I will be going there for more. The pizza was absolutely delicious. The menu is very conservative which makes the choices limited and may not be an exciting revisit. However, the complete experience is demoted for a few things that may be borderline nitpicking. I was not a fan of the interior and how it affected the atmosphere. The dining is calm and relaxing, which is a huge plus. In a nutshell, a place to revisit and dine in whenever the occasion arises.


1
$ 3.28
$ 3.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Blind
Written by
2 years ago

Comments