The festivals

2 49
Avatar for Bjread.cash
2 years ago

This year had been loaded with a lot of varieties and it has all been fun.

Happy new month to all my readers. This month shall be a month of abundance blessings for us .

Sponsors of Bjread.cash
empty
empty
empty

Putting all of these together has not been that easy but with courage and God's divine grace I sat myself down and believed in myself that I can do it.

Idanre Hill

The Idanre hill is well-known for its landscape. Its wide variety on cultural sites as 'Owa's Palace', shrines, The Old Court, Belfry, Agboogun footprint, thunder water (Omi Apaara) and burial grounds have since brought the location fame and the nation's nomination for the UNESCO World Heritage Site shortlist. It resides 3000 ft (914.4meters) above sea level and houses a unique ecosystem upon which the cultural landscape has Integrated.

It was all fun on that faithful day. We visited some area like the footprint .

Have been hearing footprint at Idanre Hill but I couldn't believed it until I experienced it in person. Could you believed it that any legs can enter into the footprint, I did and it was as told of.

It was really full of fun and I enjoyed it.

Fish Festival

Part of the experience I had during my youth service Corp year in Bayelsa State at my place of primary assignment (PPA) was the fishing festival.

Seigbein Fishing Festival Sagbama in Sagbama LGA, is usually celebrated every 27th May yearly.

This is an age-long annual tradition held at the Seigben Ogugu Lake in Amassoma, Southern Ijaw Local Government Area of the State. It is usually graced by beautiful dance performances of the Egbelegbele dance troupe among others.

Other major activities that accompany the festival include a 'Love Boat Party' and singing. The festival is held every year on the 28th - 30th of May .The carnival nature of the celebration attracts people from all walks of life.

Before the day, everybody used to prepare there nets and other materials to be used for the day.

On that day at exactly 8 a.m in the morning, everyone as set for the journey to the river and as a corp members, we are privilege to go along with them.

The funniest part of it is that they all worked bear footed and everyone carried there materials along with them.

As we got to the place, they normally start with prayers in there cultural way as a way of opening door to cash more fishes.

After that everyone went into the river with great excitement and shout but we the corp members were just at the bank of the river because we can't swim and we are advised not to enter.

On that day both young and old were fishing. Even people with pregnancy were as well fishing.

I the mist of cutting fish, someone cut a big fish that got me wahoo! Because it was so big. That was the first time I will see such a big fish.

Everyone made some shout...... Because that is how they normally shout if anyone has cut big fish and it was so heavy to carry. That day was really fun.

I got many fishes that day. When I got home, I prepared the fish 🐟 and roasted some of it on fire 🔥and the remaining one was used to prepare soup.

I enjoyed myself well that day. I even travelled with some to my family and they all enjoyed it too.

Yam Festival

The Akun Day Festival is an age-old tradition in Akungba Akoko, Akoko South-West Local Government Area of Ondo State, which also marks the new year festival. The day is usually marked with fanfare, prayers and songs.

Most sons and daughters from the ancient town, both home and abroad, usually look forward to this festival which has spanned many years, as it tends to unite and remind them of their ancestral and cultural heritage.

This year’s colourful event was held under the watchful eyes of the traditional ruler of Akungba Akoko, Oba Sunday Adeyeye, his wife and the High Chiefs from the seven quarters in the town, which include, Igbelu, Ibaka, Akunmi, Okele, Akua, Okusa and Ikale quarters of the town.

Traditional rulers from neighbouring communities were not left out in the celebration. Indigenes of the community invited guests from all walks of life to the Holy Trinity Play Ground at the University community, as the people of the town rolled out drums and danced in appreciation of the bountiful harvest, unity and security of the community.

As is customary, this year’s Akun-day festival commenced with the colourful processions by various age grades group, decked in colourful traditional attires, praying for the community one after the other.

Speaking on the importance of Akun-Day, Oba Adeyeye said the festival was designed to celebrate togetherness, and to foster peace, progress and equitable development in the town, saying the festival was a reminder of the legacy bequeathed to them by their forefathers

It was indeed a wonderful experience I had and they did it in there own cultural way and it was fantastic.

That was my experience so far , and it was all fun and I enjoyed it to the fullest.

See you next in good health and wellness of heart...... Remain blessed

2
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @Abhay
$ 0.01 from @Methion
Sponsors of Bjread.cash
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjread.cash
2 years ago

Comments

You have clearly have some good tourist experiences even though that wasn't the goal. I would love to see for myself someday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a wonderful experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago