Why Musk wants to start charging X users a monthly fee

2 32
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
7 months ago

I was trying to take a break from making blogs as I feel I was too much preoccupied. I rarely check my socmed accounts too but an email notification from linkedin caught my attention. It was a post about Elon Musk’s announcement that X (twitter.com) will soon start charging its users a subscription fee.

Musk justified the introduction of a subscription fee as a means to combat the proliferation of bots and to promote free speech while curbing hate speech. Bots, he explained, are inexpensive to create, but charging for each account would raise the cost and deter their proliferation. This reasoning suggests a practical approach to address a pressing issue in online discourse.

The concept of charging for social media has several merits. First, it could weed out trolls and users who do not genuinely value the platform, as they may migrate to free alternatives. This exodus could lead to a more positive and engaged community. Second, it might help reduce issues like hate speech and doxing, as the need for payment methods would increase accountability.

This move signifies a shift in the social media industry. Social media platforms have been plagued by issues like intrusive ads and declining user experience. By exploring a subscription-based model, Twitter/X is adapting to evolving user expectations. If this move proves successful, other platforms might follow suit, ushering in a new era where quality content and user experience take precedence over intrusive advertisements.

Elon Musk's decision to introduce a subscription fee for Twitter/X users may initially face resistance, but it reflects a strategic response to pressing issues in online discourse. Charging users could enhance the platform's quality, reduce undesirable behaviors, and set a precedent for a shift towards subscription-based models in the social media industry. The success or failure of this endeavor will undoubtedly shape the future of social media.

Ordinary users like me may not be affected by this change. Why should I care? I can deactivate my twitter account if Musk would materialize the plans about monthly payment even if it just small amount. Unless, I have something that makes revenue out of twitter, I can deal with that subscription fee.

Musk has not mentioned of when he will start charging X users monthly fee. But one thing I know for sure is, he will, anytime soon.  

What can you say about this subscription fee by twitter? Share your thoughts in the comments.

Resources:

https://www.inc.com/justin-bariso/elon-musk-x-twitter-announcement-monthly-subscription-fee.html

Lead image: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Elon_Musk_Royal_Society.jpg

1
$ 0.09
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @zulfrontado
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
7 months ago

Comments

I think he only thinks like a millionaire. I don't think this will reduce hate on networks. If a person is able to open thousands of accounts, even though they are banned for hate, they would be able to pay for one. All because Twitter is superior in many ways. It is a place that has great advantages, and an open window. What you don't get on other websites.

I don't know if I would pay for it. If it's something that's not going to make me money, I don't want to spend unnecessarily. Unless you get a good status on the platform, which allows monetization. And so take what you earn to pay. Doing it in a self-sustaining way seems right for me.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

if that would happen, perhaps some socmed platforms will follow through.

$ 0.00
7 months ago