Victimize by Circumstance

2 27
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

A week ago I posted about text message scams I am receiving with my personal mobile number.

Last Sunday I received another text message saying, “Hello, reply to my rmail now: mtwgxx@gmail.com”. I rarely received this type of scam message with an email address where to contact the scammer. I think this is the fourth time. I know for sure that all of these are scams so I just ignore it. It’s just annoying that these scam messages will just pop into the inbox without a clue of why they have our cell phone number.

But anyway my foolishness started to trigger me with this scammer so what I did was I created a dummy Gmail account then emailed the scammer with harsh and offensive words. The scammer seemed to not moved because after sending the message the scammer replied saying that he is Mr. Stephen L. Coleman  enclosed a story telling letter. Oh yes, email autoresponder. It’s no longer new to me.

The message was this (in verbatim):

Greetings,

How are you today and your family? Want to believe you are all doing great. I contacted you through this medium for a business that will benefit the both of us greatly, if handled properly. Am sure that we can conclude this in less than two weeks or less. And I want our communication to be basically through this secured email to maintain the needed confidentiality and also for safety and security reasons.

I got your contact through the Philippines directory and I contacted you through a secured high sms protocol services that connect to any local communication network available at its services. The message might come with an international number or a local number, the most important thing is that its objective is made and communicated for this reason…

The letter consists of 820 words to be exact and I will not paste it here because this post will be flagged as plagiarized. I know for sure that his story was all lies so after reading it I replied with an Emoji showing two middle fingers. As of this writing I have not received a reply from him.

I checked the entire message with a plagiarism checker and it was 100% plagiarized then it leads me to a post that tells the scammer is Matthew Little. I scroll down to read some comments and to my surprise there are a lot of Filipinos being victimized by him and even given huge amounts of money.

Numerous complaints are sharing their experience with this scammer. I just don’t understand why some people tend to eat such bait without thinking of the consequences. Sometimes I wonder if those who were scammed are just stupid enough or that the scammers are just versatile and smart. The funny thing is some are kind of educated but still being fooled.

We must understand that things like these are all too good to be true. If such a thing is too good to be then it is not true.

Remember that there are only two people in this type of scenario - the fool and the foolish. I think the only way to avoid being scammed is awareness. Some people get scammed because they are not aware of what is happening beyond their knowledge. They would jump into conclusion right away with thinking or making aware first if such a thing is really true.

I was once a victim of scammers although it did not involved huge amount of money and yes I was stupid enough but I learned my lesson.

5
$ 0.92
$ 0.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Yes I agree sir Bjorn. The important is to have an awareness with this kind of things. People got fooled because they don't have any idea with it that it's a scam already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also received that kind of messages in my phone, as if it sounds good but I don't respond to any of those messages knowing that I don't apply for any work online or do any inquiry. It's good that you have check it first before anything else bad happen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago