The Greatest Heist In History

7 22
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

“I am a thief, son of thief, brother of a thief and I hope someday to be the father of a thief.”

I hope you will not be confused by thinking about my identity with regards to those lines.

Before you think of anything negative about me, let me tell you first that those lines are from the final season of the Netflix series, Money Heist.

Who among you here have completed watching the last season of the series?

I am not a fan of any of the characters of Money Heist. In fact that was the first time I saw those Spanish actors on TV.

During the lockdown people don’t have much to do other than facebooking, tiktoking, internet surfing and watching films all day.

Since I can’t go out during my rest days, I started watching films and TV series. One of which was the Money Heist. I was impressed by how The Professor (Alvaro Morte) planned the greatest heist in history as he said in the series so I decided to watch it until the end.

I wonder why some filmmakers are fond of creating movies like this. It’s kind of disagreeable to me because it may inspire some people and urge them to become thieves. I mean if they want to steal and become like Robin Hood that would be acceptable I guess.

Stealing 90 tons of gold from a bank with high security is really a blow to the moon. However it could be possibly done with a lot of preparation that could even last for 20 years. Yes, that was the duration of how the professor planned to steal those bars of gold.

The gang has successfully stolen the 90 tons of gold from the bank. They went out in front of the bank’s main door with police and soldiers watching and not handcuffed then completely fled.

No one chases a dead man

If you have not yet seen the finale, you may wonder how they went out without being caught.

The professor took time in studying how he would get the gang out. Getting the gold out may seem a problem already solved but he focused on getting his team out easily with no casualties as much as possible.

I really like how the professor negotiates with the colonel. He always said to him that it’s either we both lose or we both win.

They both lose because if the colonel won’t listen to the professor all of the gang will be dead, the colonel’s dark side will be exposed and the debt of Spain will skyrocket resulting in a total bankruptcy.

They both win because if the colonel will trust the professor, he is safe with his career and no casualties. The government and the economist will agree that the debt crisis will be controlled believing that the gold has been retrieved.

I have watched several films about heists and similar stories. One thing remarkable about these films is that it seems becoming a thief is a great profession. Of course it is only a story from a movie. You may think that it is not real. What do heist films and real bank robbery have in common? They both don’t tell the people of how much money the robbers have taken.

A thief will always be a thief

If you happen to watch heist films or robbery movies, you will notice that it involves their family. It has become a family tradition. Steal with real purpose not just for their own welfare. They are not just ordinary thieves. They steal from the real thief - the government.

Overall I gave the Money Heist series two thumbs up. I feel proud because they choose Manila as a name. Not only that, they also managed to fly to Palawan to shoot while the professor was hiding and came up with an idea of how to completely get the gold out.

Indeed it was the greatest heist in history, but it was only in the movie.

Speaking of gold, the Philippines have a lot of it. The Yamashita treasures. The first found Yamashita gold was stolen by the administration around fifty years ago.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Lead image source credits to Samuele Giglio

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

5
$ 1.81
$ 1.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

To be honest Money Heist was overrated series. Have you watched prison break series yet?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Michael Scofield. That was long time ago, 2009 i think. the first ever TV series i have watched. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn!! Scofield was brilliant. But money heist professor was tensed half of series. Btw my favorite character was T-bag in prison break .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't wacht it yet sir Bjorn. It's trending since I heard it many times and I always saw it in Facebook that movie. I think I try to watch it too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it you have not watch it from season 1, you should start watching it now. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone I know is talking about it, maybe I should give it a watch too, when I get free time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it was a good drama and action series, though of course you should watch it from the start.

$ 0.00
2 years ago