Show Your Work (Building my website)

8 47
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

If we want to be heard or be recognized, one thing that we need to do is to show our work.

People have their own different skills and talents and most of them remain hidden because they are not showing up or no one helps them to show their skills.

When social media platforms existed it sparked people with hidden talents to become instant celebrities. In other words the internet and social media gives them an opportunity to show their work.

This platform for example is another way for us to show our work and be heard. If you can remember your first grade teacher telling you to show your work to the class then that is what I am trying to emphasize.

Some people don’t like to show their work to other people. My 12-year old daughter, for example, would not want me to see her work projects in school. The reason was that she thinks her work is not beautiful to look at. So I would remind her that showing your work is important because you will never know if you are doing it the right way. In addition people will have a chance to give their opinion about your work.

Afraid of Criticism

The reason some people don’t want to show their work is that they are afraid of criticism. Sometimes I tend to have this attitude, you know like being offended when I receive negative feedback about my work but I don’t take it too personally.  Most people would feel the same way if they receive destructive criticism. But we must understand that not all people would agree with our work. There is always someone who would disagree. What is frustrating is that sometimes our own family would be the first to dislike our work.

Low self-esteem and no self confidence are just a few attributes of a person who doesn't want to show his work to other people.

Remember that no matter how beautiful our work is, someone will always look at it as ugly. People have different perspectives to what is normal. The most famous Picasso painting may look ugly to people who do not know about art thus criticizing the painting as dull as if no sense in appreciating a hard work.

I always mention in my previous posts about building my own website. Perhaps if you have been reading my posts since you subscribed you might think that I am just bluffing because I am not showing my work. I honestly am kind of afraid of criticism, that is why I am not giving you a link to my personal website.

You may think that building your own website is just a crap especially if you have nothing to put in there. Actually there are a lot of benefits of having your own personal website these days and one of which is applying for a job. There is a high percentage that you will be hired if the employer knows that you know how to manage a website.

Anyway before I end this post let me share you screenshots of my personal website. This is still a work in progress so I will not be sharing you the link for now.

Desktop view - Home page

Note that I don’t know about web hosting, all the knowledge I learned about building a website are all self thought and trial and error.

Mobile view - Home and About me page

This website is experimental so I am keeping it to myself for now although it is already live. I did not use cryptocurrency to pay with it because you know earning BitcoinCash here these days is quite slow. I used may Paypal to shoulder the transaction.

5
$ 2.89
$ 2.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.02 from @JLoberiza
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Thanks for these article, am among those who don't show my work, because of criticism and also feel is notice me.... but thanks to read cash I now share my experience

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are welcome. we need criticism to make us better. just believe in your self.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow cool! That's a good move for you. Showing your work is really not the thing to be afraid of.

I also recently shared my website and nah, everyone is welcome!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks dude. I visited your website and gave my ratings. keep it up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, thank you for the review!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looks cool. Same here, I'm now starting to share my work. That's why I created a blog in Publish0x to start with. But I also created an account in Wordpress.com. I will use their free services for now. But when I can save enough, I will get my own domain and host. Looking forward to see you own site soon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. At least there is an action on your end but hey you can try buying a domain for a month it will only cost for less than 10 dollars. You know it is pretty different thing when you already have one because the free services are very limited and you can not do what you want with your website. when you have savings you can just renew, at least you have started something to work with.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm still working on my Redbubble and Fiverr this month. As of now, I need only the basic features. I just want a page to promote the various earning platforms I am in. Maybe in a month, I can focus more on WordPress, I will conisder your suggestion. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago