Practice Make It Best

4 19
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Practice makes perfect. Nobody is perfect.

Those two phrases seem contradictory although it has been said that anything that we do over and over makes it almost perfect. Even if our eyes are closed we can still do such a thing because we are used to it.

Ironically no one is perfect. No one can do anything perfect.

Before I started writing about this topic, I searched first for topics about this posted on this platform. I always do this before I start writing whatever topics come to my mind. The reason is, I want to know why they choose to write about such a topic or what is the story behind it. This is also one good practice of learning knowledge and information from other writers.

I don’t know what things you know or you don’t know what things I know either. So reading writings from other people is a one good way of knowing a person. If you are reading most of my stories here you will mostly know some of my personality traits and can relate to some of my personal life experiences.

Like JRamona20 for example, who is interested in arts and design and dreams of becoming a beauty queen someday.

I also found out that zolabundance2 was once connected with a newspaper similar to my previous job which was about printing.

In my almost half a year of hanging out on this platform, I get the chance to know some of you by merely reading your stories. And of course you, knowing me as well. Although I don’t post pictures of myself that much. You may not see me commenting in your post but I am reading them. I am not a good conversationalist. That is why I limit myself from commenting on others' posts.

I also have the chance to know people from other parts of the world just by reading their articles like JonicaBradley, Pantera, Pricessbusayo, PeterMolnar. There’s just too many of you to mention and I am grateful to have connections (I don’t mean personal connection) with you guys even though we are all strangers here.

To my virtual friends here that I met on other platforms, you know who you are.

Anyway I was about to tackle perfection again but diverted into something dramatic. Forgive me.

The story I want to share again is of course another chapter of my life as a youth.

It was when we started to form a rock band. The problem was that we don’t have our own instruments because our parents can’t provide us with our youthful passion. So we just borrow instruments from another group, rich kids as we name them and do rehearsal during Saturdays and Sundays.

We’ve been practicing for a couple of months but we don’t know how to read musical notes and tab notation. We just listen to some alternative rock music that we want to cover then find some songbooks for guitar chords and lyrics. The Internet back then was expensive and mobile devices are only for texting and calling so we have limited resources when it comes to gathering information about our passion.

They held a battle of the bands in our place. Then they encourage us to join. Being the front man (lead vocalist) I was hesitant to participate in that even because I know that we are not ready for that. However my band mates were eager to join so the majority won.

Unsplash free images by Chris Zhang

It was our turn to show what we have. I can hear the crowd screaming, cheering for their rock bands to win but I don’t see any faces. Then at a distance will shout, “Classmate!” I knew that some high school classmates and friends were there watching. Probably some girl's crush.

Then at the stage before we performed the emcee asked me, “Why do you name your band as Fictional Reality”? Before I could start talking, the crowds screamed in excitement. I was like damn, we are starting to become famous (laughs).

We played four song covers in different categories and then the rest is history.

That was the greatest ever failure I have experienced because we messed up during the show. I didn’t expect anything for the win because I know that we are not that prepared to be joining such an event. Somehow that was the first tough thing I did. I mean if you don’t have enough guts to be standing in front of hundreds of people, you might just walk away.

Lesson learned was to never assume that you can do something great because you know a little. Practice makes it best but we cannot make things perfect.  Perfect is an impossible thing.

After that event we never give up. We still do what we love as a youth but we never engage in the same event again.

Somehow we have improved our performance and then eventually we switch to covering darker music from alternative rock to metal. Atmospheric metal has been our choice.

Unfortunately when we graduated college no one from us became a successful music artist.

It is a great feeling to reminisce about that fun we have had when we are young.  The good thing about it is that we are learning from the mistakes we committed. We began to realize the importance of having to be prepared and ready before involving ourselves in some opportunities. I mean you can’t go fishing without a fishnet or anything to catch fish.

So it is important to master things first by doing it over and over. I guess we should change the phrase to “practice makes it best” instead of  “practice makes perfect”. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

 Lead image source credits to  Tim Toomey

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

5
$ 1.63
$ 1.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Kike9781
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Practice is a thing you will learn as much as you practice. Practice makes a mam perfect. I liked talking about a beautiful thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my country, there is a saying that says “Practice makes a master” would be a luxury in your article, I think it's great the way you tell how you face the writing process, doing your search on the platform, to have the point of view of several, it is something that the next time I write I will. Great that all the experience with your rock band, often fear or sometimes being perfectionists take us away from great experiences and burden us with limitations. Nice teaching that you leave us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks for the compliments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago