No Cure For Stupidity

2 22
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

There are hospitals for insane people but none for stupid ones.

I remember my father would humor his friends during their drinking session with that line.

It may sound funny but that is reality.

When was the last time you did something stupid? Well me, I just did eight hours ago.

In our daily lives we are used to doing things that need not have critical thinking. I mean our daily routine like brushing our teeth, taking a shower or drinking coffee are things that are already set in our mind. The only difference is that we don’t brush our teeth or take showers with the same exact timeframe every day. Or we don’t prepare coffee with the same exact amount of sugar and coffee granules. Unless you are drinking 3 in 1 coffee that is an exact mixture but it will also depend on a person’s taste.

People are stupid I mean no one can escape stupidity. Even the most prominent person can do stupid things.

I do a lot of stupid things which I think normal for a person that has not lost his sanity.

So, today’s posts I will share with you an experience that really made me feel stupid.

Four years ago I opened a savings bank account in one of the local banks here in our place. The savings account will be used to deposit all my extra income online which includes earnings from this platform.

I don’t normally withdraw money from that account only when there is a need for emergency cash assistance.

Last month I was trying to withdraw via ATM but for some reason my account was blocked. It says I have entered the incorrect PIN three times and it will resume after three days. I am pretty sure I have entered the 4-digit PIN correctly. So I went home and forgot about the withdrawal as I have already acquired extra cash from other sources of income.

Yesterday I tried to withdraw and confidently entered the 4-digit PIN and to my surprise the machine told me that my account had been blocked again due to an incorrect PIN. So I decided to go to the bank earlier this morning to report about what had happened.

When I approached the guard I told him about my transaction and he said my card needs to be activated and then he gave me a contact tracing form.

When it’s my turn I told the teller about what had happened. She then told me my cash card is already activated and that there is nothing wrong with my account. She told me to try again from the ATM outside. But then again the same problem occurred. It has exceeded the incorrect pin attempt. Then I went back to the teller and told her that it did not push through. She reset it and told me to try again and if the problem still persists, I need to change my card which will take seven days. And I said that’s fine with me and I went out to try again for the last time.

Before I did my final attempt, the guard told me that after I had entered the pin he would check the screen before I proceed.

I then entered the four digits PIN and then told the guard to see and check. The guard went near and upon seeing the ATMs screen he then told me politely, “Sir, Unionbank is a 6-digit PIN.”

I was like, jeez! That was hard. I felt like I was melting because of my blunder.

You know I am used to withdrawing with another cash card using a 4-digit PIN. That is why I was used to entering a four digits password. Besides, I frequently withdraw from that savings account that I already forgot that it needs 6 digits of PIN.

Anyway I hope you can forgive me with that (laughs).

Finally I was able to get the cash and I was thankful to the security guard.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Lead image source credits to CardMapr

6
$ 8.70
$ 8.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Talecharm
$ 0.03 from @kingofreview
+ 1
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

If there is a hospital for stupid people, I'll visit every day for my daily check-up :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i think I would do the same. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago