Does Having a College Diploma Matters?

9 29
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Earlier today there was some sort of fun that happened in one of the teams at work near our office station.

The team leader was asking one question to his agents as  part of their interaction in the workplace.

The question was, “If you will be given a chance to travel back in the past, what scenario of your life would you want to go back?”

It creates some noise in the workplace but it was not loud enough to cause disturbance to other agents on duty.

I was busy doing my report and even if I don’t want to be disturbed I can’t help but to listen as some of their answers make sense.

One particular answer that I have half heard was kind of remarkable. The agent was referring to the time of his life when he was studying in college. He said that he is an undergraduate and if only he had not been involved in some gangsters he could have a diploma in engineering. Then he said that it is still good to have a diploma. It appears that he was having regrets and wanted to correct something in his timeline. 

Upon hearing his answer I paused and thought of something like, does having a college diploma really matters?

Kenny Eliason - Unsplash

The truth is, I have a college diploma and finished a 4-year degree. But where am I now? Here I am at a BPO company working as a Workforce Analyst that I have never ever dreamed of.

For whatever reason he wanted to have a diploma and was envious of people who have one.

I wanted to chime in and tell him that having a diploma doesn’t matter if you want to be successful in life. It’s only a piece of paper with a university dry seal and signatures of the dean and university president.

I have been in the printing industry for 13 years working as a printer operator but my previous employer did not ask for my diploma when I was hired. I have worked in Saudi Arabia for two years but then a diploma is not even one of the requirements. I applied to my current employer six years ago and still the HR department did even dare to speak about my diploma.

But then again I asked myself the question about going back in time. I guess it was when I had the opportunity to teach in college but just let it pass. 

However, when I think of that particular event in my life, I realize that it was done and really the course of my life. Perhaps if I grabbed that opportunity I would not be here writing in this community, I would not have met my wife or I would be richer or poorer by now. We never know.

For those of you who are still studying, just finish whatever type of carrier you have chosen. Shifting to a different course will just confuse you and will just delay your process of learning.

We must understand the importance of education but remember that those are only for the basics. 

Do you know who really wants the diploma? It is our parents because they are working hard for our education and that seeing their sons and daughters receive a diploma is something that they are proud of. 

5
$ 5.82
$ 5.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.03 from @Eunoia
+ 1
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

For me, it's important po, basta sana isang career path na gusto ng isang tao. Kasi kabit may diploma for example, useless din kung di naman ipursue yung program na tinapos,pagdatin sa working world.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

kadalasan yong mga papalit palit ng course walng natatapos, and yes importante din namn na may diploma kang matatangap after more than four years of studying hard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo, sayang rin nman gastos at pagod..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I graduated college with a certificate and diploma, and yeah, no one asked for that paper when I looked on my first job hunt. Even within my T.O.R, somehow, they don't believe in that. Lucky I had a PRC grade, and that matters the most, hehe. But there was a spark within our parent's eyes when they saw and held the diploma.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

that can be a plus points but overtime most employers tend to rely on experiences and skillset.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't get degree just get knowledge skills and experience many billionaires in the world are not degree holder

$ 0.01
1 year ago

agree.. even most great invertors in history are all college drop out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have that also we called diploma but as you've said it is just a piece of paper, hardwork and strategem in life will matter the most to succed in life

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yes even a person of grade school level education can be successful, i have known a lot of people personally who has put up a business without having even a high school diploma and become succesful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago