Do You Have The Determination?

4 32
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Determination is one personal character trait that makes a person achieve his goal. It is so powerful that a person would pursue such a goal without hesitation or any indecisiveness.

An athlete is a person that demonstrates a lot of determination. Although it can be present in every undertaking, a goal cannot be achieved if a person is not determined to do so.

I am not an athletic person or sporty guy sort of but I have favorite sports of course that I have been watching on TV. Let’s just say that I am more inclined to music, metal music to be more specific and of course creating words and sentences out of thoughts.

Basketball is one famous game turned into sports and almost every guy loves to play it. Even my wife loves watching PBA/NBA and she knows a lot about it when it comes to violations (shame on me, laughs).

It just bored me to see such a game and even though I wanted to force myself to play or watch basketball I am just fooling myself. The fact is I like sports that are extreme. Unfortunately I haven’t engaged in any risky sport right now.

Baylee Gramling - Unsplash

I have long been watching ONE and UFC fighting sports. Yes, that is one kind of sport that I love to watch or engage with. But no, don’t think that I am a dangerous person. You know people should stop thinking about other people who are practicing martial arts as dangerous people. Although there is always a connotation that such a person is intimidating. It is important to note that patience is vital if you want to engage in such activity. It is the same thing with soldiers and police officers. You see there are a lot of reports about a police officer engaged in a fight then shooting because he has lost his patience. Even in boxing, fighters don’t just fight. Each fighter has their own plans, strategy and determination to win the fight.

I am not sure if there are users in the community who like martial arts. But if you can recall 9 months ago I posted about this topic with the title Protect Yourself From Bad Guys. I have discussed the vital parts in the human body where to inflict serious injury (please note that this is for self defense only).

Nobody wants to harm anybody physically, mentally or emotionally. As for the fighting sports, fighters don’t really want to hurt each other because there are rules to follow. Fighters don’t just throw punches and kicks in any directions. You will notice that most wins are acquired by way of knock out (KO). There are two parts in the body that a person can be knocked down seriously and those are the jaw and the liver. Regardless of what type of blow a person receive either by a fist, kick, elbow or knee. Those are legal blows as per extreme fighting sports rules.

Ariel Pilotto - Unsplash

If a person is determined to win he is already determined right from the start of his training. It’s kind of weird when an athlete is engaged in a sport and is determined to lose. I mean how could he train himself when at the back of his mind the goal is just to lose. It’s nonsense.

You see every activity we partake or engage with has a purpose, a goal and determination. If you are certain about your passion then determination comes out naturally. It’s like doing what you love and loving what you do. However there are cases that what we do is not what we love. But we can’t get out of it because it’s what keeps us alive.

Sometimes our current job is not what we dreamed of but we accept it because without it we may not be able to survive. So our determination is focused on survival instead of the thing that makes us move forward.

7
$ 1.59
$ 1.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Talecharm
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

It's one of my dreams to learn martial arts, or at least the art of self-defense.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

self taught is possible, internet has been a source of learning these days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You like metal music? Is metal music like a hard one right? Hmm. I was once heard a song in metal music genre, but it sounds don't great in my hears. Haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

forget about it. 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago