The Road Ahead Is Long So Shut Up & Drive

0 18
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
9 months ago

Do you guys and dolls have that too?
Those What The Fluff moments when scrolling through communities or your Feeds here on HIVE?
It can be encountering something totally unexpected like a picture from a nearby village, or something that you think hey I just did that???


Well Today it´s the latter and for a second I was really shocked (nah of course not I do not shock that easily but it is a great term to use to get you in the mood Dear reader).

I was scrolling through what seemed an interesting post Music Monday | Songs for on the road and then I saw this coming:

Fracking Freckles

I went like Freckle is this for real? I have not thought about that song for years ......till last week. How can out of millions and millions of songs this one Pop Up again? Because this song was the song that triggered last week's Midnight Gems Session.

Which already was a bit of a different session than usual as it was a hint and had a common theme. But that exact same song, I was glad that they did not bring up the Car Stereo commercial that I mentioned but still, I turned silent and I thought....

Did I inspire someone or is the universe trying to tell me something?

I am pretty sure I have read more by @karinxxl but I don´t think she is a regular visitor of my sessions, although she should be of course as you all should because they are awesome.

What Are You Trying To Tell Me?

So I guess that the Universe is trying to tell me something.

Maybe it´s telling me to get out of this place if it´s the last thing I ´LL ever do.

Maybe it´s telling me that I need to take control, get in that driver's seat.

Or maybe I just need to focus on the road ahead, because that is the song that popped into my mind when I opened the article that triggered this Spread The Vibes post #STV.

It´s not even one of my favorite songs, I think it´s long and whiny but it might make sense.

Even though I still doubt about getting in that drivings-eat; I don´t think that is what the universe is trying to tell me. I got MY life on the road and I have a clear plan where I am going.

Of course, there is still much room for improvement but I am going fast forward!

Hence knowing that and combining that with that song that popped up it´s about me understanding the road ahead is long. And that might just sound right. I think I am at that point where I feel like I have traveled for years and never took a pause to truly look around and see where it has gotten me.

You Got Three Wishes

That is why I am taking some time to reflect. Many things that got me here came from necessity and impulsivity. There was no plan, there were 3 wishes:

I am probably a hallway and:
Work in a Coffeeshop
Become A DJ
Write A Best Seller

I didn´t do too badly on my wishlist and those that follow me must have noticed I am practicing for that bestseller. Guess I did get most of my teenage wishes in already.

If I am halfway, the road ahead is definitely still long. It might be me maturing, but I would like to plan this second half a bit. I think that is definitely a sign of getting older.

If you´re not progressive when you are younger you don´t have a heart.
If you´re not conservative when you are older you don't have a brain.

That will raise the question do you do better with a plan and a brain or by being impulsive and agile?

For Now

For Now, I would say that having a plan and working against it has brought me more wealth and less adventure. That less adventure might just be temporary because once I achieved several of the milestones on my plan life will get lots more adventures.

More adventures but with a backup (plan), that first half I had to wing with no financial backup. Worrying about any unexpected cost that showed up.
I was always able to pay my rent, but guess that was it. If I had done it differently I might already own a beautiful Cortijo in the middle of nowhere. But I would not have lived a DJ life with sex, drugs, and Rock&Roll. It would have been a life that was planned from start to finish with an unadventurous first part and with a big chance that the second part would be identical.

Ten years ago I told myself to kick ass once more and see how far it could get me. I got a sort of corporate job and I have been growing, or at least my gross salary has been growing. Now will that gross salary buy me financial freedom?

Did I Spend Wisely?

Probably not entirely, but it did get me ahead and put me in a position that allows me to plan and build.
Build a diverse portfolio and plan a financial approach that should allow me a non-corporate future.

A simple future doing something in hospitality that pays the bills and leaves me enough for those unexpected bills. Doing something I really enjoy, building something that I think is cool and gives me fulfillment. Because right now the only thing that gets a bit fulfilled is the hole in my bank account.

It often causes me to doubt, whether this is what I really want. Then I need to remind myself that the years I spend are an investment because the road ahead is long. And you will need to invest that priceless commodity time to eventually get to where you want to be.

The fact that I question the wisdom of my investment probably means I am nearing the end, or at least past the halfway point some time ago.

Of course, like any investment, it´s a risk. You might have to get out of life early and waste all those corporate years. But then again it´s all about the risk-reward scenario.

Risk-Reward

That risk-reward seems right to me, knowing I took an advance on experience early in life to ensure that even an early ending would have allowed me to leave this rock in space satisfied.

So giving up the 3rd quarter to make sure you set yourself up for a great last inning seems like the smart thing to do. Basically, I have nothing left to lose, and everything to gain.

Bottom Line

The universe is probably telling me to have faith, to stay strong as the road ahead is long and this 3rd quarter does not last forever. There is so much coming just behind that bend up ahead.

Or Maybe.... Just Maybe

Maybe the universe is just telling me to get my driver's license finally.

1
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
9 months ago

Comments