Midnight Gems - Your Free Mix-Tape Show - E 20 "Power (No Puff) Girls"

0 26
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
8 months ago

For those of you that are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing songs & covers.

I saw the sign and it opened up my eyes I saw the sign, remember that song? Well I am not gonna play it, but I did see a sign "Moto Motor" and being weird and slightly dialectic I was reminded of a song by Tracy Bonham, so I guess this trip will start with some cool chick songs.

Tracy Bonham - Mother Mother

Another one-hit wonder in my book was triggered right away, now these ladies might have a lot of greatest hits that I am not aware off...so forgive my limited musical knowledge and laziness to not research it tonight but it´s just getting to damn hot in here.

Sandi Thom - I Wish I Was A Punk Rocker

Talking about doing your research, I loved this song pretty much for the laid-back vibes and lyrics...but Edie...who the fluff is Edie. She not the Iron Maiden Eddie but little did I know...she is the Paul Simon Edie. Yup married to the legend.

Edie Brickell & New Bohemians - What I Am

Another laidback lady boss song from back in those days, Natalie might not be the most famous lady in the list but she is certainly one of my personal favorites.

Natalie Merchant - Carnival

I loved to play this song on a Saturday night, it was a bit on the edge as it was quite poppy for the place I used to DJ but it made the girly crowd move so nicely.

KT Tunstall - Suddenly I See

KT was definitely not a one hit wonder and from KT to Kate is only a small step, now I think Kate only had one real hit...but I prefer this one.

Kate Nash - Dickhead

And all of a sudden it was 2007 and there was this Scottish girl, whose debut album did not contain a single bad song. But I admit that This is The Life had a 2007 class but also carrying that 80s The Smiths Smell.

Amy Macdonald - This Is The Life

Amy almost made the same impression as this next lady. Anouk was the Dutch sensation late 90s. She also had a debut album that you can only dream of. But that first single....damn.

Anouk - Nobody's Wife

I did not want to play Lilly it was too easy, but fuck it. Playing Anouk who has a fracking huge attitude I just need to go Lilly Allen on your asses, predictable but so freaking freckle nice.

Lily Allen | Fuck You

As always I would like to go out with a bang and if there was one lady that banged back in my DJ days it was Skin and this is just a personal fav.

Maxim - Carmen Queasy (feat. Skin) [HQ]

This might not have been a standard trip dear reader, this was a trip down my memory lane. Just in case one day those memories will be gone.

I hope it was as good for you as it was for me.


Youtube Playlist

All these gems were added to this week´s YouTube playlist.

All Midnight Gems Playlist can be found here

Spotify Playlist: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/734hzM4SpacJp7ZSAQfxVU

The Spotify playlist might not capture the whole show but is meant to represent it as well as Spotify makes it possible

What the fluff is midnight gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism. I have been wanting to do this for years...Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this well-known wave of fantastic music and that you still feel like joining me on the next Midnight Gems Session coming soon.

1
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
8 months ago

Comments