Is this a joke or harassment?

0 15
Avatar for BettyRB
2 years ago

Bullying is something that nowadays has become normalized in some places and today I am going to explain why.

Pinterest

Yesterday, April 4, my little cousin told me that a classmate makes fun of her and laughs at the way she does her hair. My cousin is a girl who loves school, loves to study and is very dedicated to it, however, she comments that she doesn't have much energy to go to school anymore. Her father does not take it very seriously, he mentions that it is a joke and this is where the real problem occurs.

Believing it to be a simple "joke," many of these cases end in the worst way. Making fun of another person because of the way they dress, the way they do their hair, the way they talk or even what happens is not a joke and I think everyone, especially parents, should understand that.

Guía Infantil

Without leaving aside that there are cases in which the problem already comes from home and many times children copy the actions that their parents do. However, sometimes it is not just words, much of the bullying can be with violence, making the result even worse.

Vago de Internet

Children or adolescents who are bullied tend to experience anxiety, depression, loneliness. Affecting in such a way their physical health, as they have changes in eating and sleeping patterns, they also lose interest in an activity they used to like to do. Not to mention that these are problems that can extend into adulthood.

El Periódico

Personally, I suffered from something similar, I was teased or told painful things about my physique, affecting my mental health since childhood, because I needed to fit in to belong, I said things that were not really my personality. Until I grew up, I confronted many people, my fears and my teachers. Everything that needed to happen happened and it was part of my personal growth, which helped me to have better mental health and be stable today.

Freepik

Please, if a child or teenager mentions to you that they feel bullied or something similar, believe it, it is not a drama or even a show, it is reality and the only thing they are asking for is help, look for a solution. Listen to them and look for a solution, let's protect their mental health and their quality of life.

Pinterest

How can we prevent bullying?

Parents, teachers and everyone can prevent bullying. By doing the following:

  • Setting an example of how to treat others with kindness and respect.

  • Encouraging children to do what they like to do.

  • Helping and explaining so that children understand what bullying is, making them understand that doing something similar is unacceptable.

  • Keep the lines of communication open.

Let's listen, understand and find a good solution!

Vecteezy

I hope you liked this article and found it useful.

Tell me, what did you think and what is your opinion about it?

Sponsors of BettyRB
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.12
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of BettyRB
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BettyRB
2 years ago

Comments