The Spiral Curriculum

4 22

Its funny when you wake up at dawn and one of the things that you think of is your articles. Hahaha. Let me tell you that some of my new habits is to check on read.cash as much as possible in the morning. I couldn't be more proud of myself for having that routine now. You see I have been here for almost eight months already and there are times when I am so busy with work and home that I sometimes do not have the time to write an article. But since last month, I have decided to make it a goal to publish at least one article per day. That sounds like a very simple thing to do, but for those who have other priorities, I am sure you will attest with the fact that it is not as easy as 123. Right?

I am so glad that I was able to wake up as early as 2 AM today because I get to do many things already-read a few articles, study my scriptures and meditate a bit. Now I am here facing my laptop, typing this article while keeping in my mind the topic that I would want to write about today.

I came across this article by @meitanteikudo entitled The Educational System, and since I am a lover of learning and growing and is a teacher by profession too, I was enticed to answer the questions that were posted at the end of that writing. So with no further ado, let us get the ball rolling and answer some of those questions that he has mentioned.

As you can see above, the author asked a total of six questions. Let us begin with the first one, "what was something that totally surprised you?"

  • It is going to be the fact that some parents think that they are the ones that were enrolled and not their sons or daughters. I am currently teaching at a local college and l I had this experience where a mother seems to be the one who always communicates with me checking up on things that needs to get done, complaining to me when a task is too tedious, so on and so forth. I felt like she was my student and that shocked me because I thought that that is only in the elementary years where parents can be so much of stage mother. I did not thought that I would find one in the college years. It was such an unforgettable experience for me beacse as young as I was in the profession, I did not handle it as smooth as a veteran teacher would. I reached a point that I got so fed up of her naggings that I ended up being called up to the Presidents office. Hahahah I cried man, I did! And so while we were there , I can feel here raging emotions towards me. And you know what is the most shocking fact of this whole experience? It is the fact she too is a teacher teaching in the public school. That fact makes this encounter so ridiculous because out of the people that could have understood or at least helped me in a positive way it could have been her knowing that she knows ho difficulty the teaching and learning process is since the pandemic started. But no, it was her who added agony and pain to my tasks as a teacher to her son. Saying that I am shocked by this experience is and understatement. Still I am thankful that she too is a professional because she said that if she wasn't, she could have punched me already.

2. "Changing years from grade school to high school, or from HS going to college, what were your expectation for the new level of education? Did the reality meet your expectation?"

  • Well, I was really expecting that the new curriculum that we have now will be difficult aside that it is going to be demanding too. The phrase “globally competitive students” are always attached to the new curriculum. And by that we can readily infer that it is going to be very demanding and that it would really require a stretch on the part of the teachers and the students because we are not just complying with our local standards, but we are adhering to the global standards. And I think I was not disappointed with what my expectations were because, it was really the case now. For example the Math and Sciences subjects in the Basic Education years ( Grades 1-6) were really spiraled. Which means that the topics are arranged and presented repeatedly through out the curriculum with a deepening level of complexity and applications. I think this would be a good move though because during 2019 we were the one of the three countries who hasn’t still adopted the K-12 Curriculum. But you know where the problems lie? We were not made ready for this before they implemented it. I have not seen the whole scene of the educational system of the country but If I am asked basing on what I know, I can say we were not made ready for this. I might be wrong when I say that and that is okay because its just my opinion. What I hoped to have been done is a better orientation of the parents the communities and stakeholders about the K-12 Curriculum before it was put to use. Just my two cents though.

And there you have it folks. Thanks to @meitanteikudo for writing such a good article that made me want to write about it too. One of the beauty of read.cash is we come here and do help each other grow even though we dont know each other personally. I think that is something so cool.

Until next time then, gotta make some breakfast!

Title: The Spiral Curriculum

Writer: Betha

Date April 26, 2022

Sponsors of Betha
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 1.13
$ 1.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
Sponsors of Betha
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Has the same opinion regarding K-12 it must have been introduced in a more precise way. Kulang sa kahandaan thats why naoverwhelmed masyado ang mga parents at learners.Though now unti unti nang nakakapag adjust both sides. I guess as much as we want to level up or upgrade our education standards so as to adhere to international or global standards , government fundings is a big factor for us to achieve that goal . Kudos to you for a well controlled attitude towards your student mother who is also a teacher. Hehe ! truly a shocking one. Keep your cool and goodluck to your teaching journey.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. I appreciate that. 🙂 When it comes to funding in the government, education recieves one of the biggest allocation. But then you know, I don't know where it goes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, for me ate, I think we have to change repetitive subjects and replace it with futuristic one especially in college. We're so far behind in terms of subjects taken by students from grade school to college. I have few friends abroad, and surprisingly their subjects are advanced unlike ours.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo dependent kasi yung sibjects sa curriculum. Tapos depending upon the school din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago