Dentist Appointment Amidst the Storm

0 14
Avatar for Betha
Written by
1 year ago

Last week, I had a terrible toothache. It was one of those really terrible ones because it got me banging and wailing at night. My husband pitied me coz I cant get a good sleep because of it. This wasn't the first time that I had a severe toothache, in fact the ones that I experienced after childbirth was even more serious and severe than this one. But since this has been a recurring pain and is indeed very paralyzing, I have made up my mind that as soon as the pain subsides, I am going to have this tooth extracted so I wont suffer more. My husband agreed to the idea of tooth extraction since he saw how painful it was for me. And so, today is the day to get my tooth extracted. I was a bit hesitant because its raining so hardin our place due to Typhoon Agaton. I messaged the dental clinic to make sure that they are open. I did not receive a reply but I was so determined to go there because I remember that the dental clinic is just near the dentist's house. And so yeah, I went there. Let me take with you on my journey to tooth extraction. Hahaha

You see that white and green bus? I rode that on the way to the dental clinic.

I waited for thirty minutes along the highway. I was expecting that it will take me one hour because of the weather. Gladly this one passed by. I remember that the LFTRB for Region 7 relaunched their LIBRENG SAKAY. In my mind I was hoping that this bus is one of the many buses that they've hired for their project.

I wished I had my jacket coz it was really cold.

Can't go anywhere without an umbrella today.

Even if I had my umbrella today, I still got wet because I had to fold my umbrella upon entrance to the bus. I was shivering a bit while I am inside due to the breeze from the outside. The rain is just a little drizzle when the bus went on its way after picking me up.

Looks like a scene in a movie, right?
Hello there, Kuyang Driver!

Can you tell the the rain has started to get so hard just by looking at the driver's window shield? Yep! The fog tells whoever sees this photo that the rain has gotten really hard. I think it was around 9-10 AM this time. And it was the time the the other Typhoon named Malakas is predicted to enter the country. That explains the sudden downpour coupled with some winds.

I was not able to take a photo of the corner of the street where I got off because of the downpour. From the highway where i got off, I had to walk for five minutes inorder to get to the pedalcab station. The pedalcab driver was so chatty, he told me of the brother of the mayor who was a musician and has returned home from abroad. He said that the guy gave them groceries and cash yesterday. This guy always does this generous act everytime he comes home. Well, I remember that the reason why our conversation reached that generous guy is because I asked him where is Wagas Ukelele located, after he pointed me to where that Ukelele Store is, he then talked about that generous guy who happened to be related to the owner of that Ukelele store. And so yeah that's how we cane to takk about that generous guy from abroad. Until the time I got off, he was so bubbly and chatty-thing you dont usually get when you ride pedalcab because sometimes the drivers are so tired in pedalling, they don't have the time to chat with you. I cant help but think that these pedalcab drivers have well toned muscles due to their daily pedalling. You think so too?

After my pedalcab ride, I reached the gate of the dentist's residence. Her clinic is just inside the gate close to her house. Which I think is amazing, right? Imagine, your office is just near at home, you can chill and watch movies and just pause it if patients are in. Hahaha. I am jealous to the point that i want to work hard and be like that- work and earn while at home.

I was gleefully welcomed by the secretary, they took my temperature, had me write personal information for record-keeping and went through a short alcohol misting for sanitation. I am glad that I am the first patient. The waiting game was just around ten to twenty minutes. I was then asked to enter the dentist's operating room.

That's my view while lying on the reclining chair.
This is my view if I look straight.
And this is the view if I look up.

Me and Doc had a little chat about what tooth would I want to be extracted. I told her that if it is possible I would want to get those three tooth that has holes to be extracted. But she told me that she cant extra teeth that are on the opposite position to each other. So I just told her to remove the lower molar. Because that was the one that keeps giving me pains. She agreed to that but she suggested that it would be better if I get those molars which has black dots for some restoration before they get totally eaten up by cavities. That way it would not be filled with food residues. I consented her suggestions and she went on and do the needed repairs.

After the restorations, she began cleaning and injecting the needed anesthesia. In my previous tooth extraction, the injection of anesthesia was the most painful part. I was hoping that it will be the case for this extraction, but it wasn't. When Doc injected the anesthesia, I felt just a little pain.

Doc was preparing the medicines while waiting for the anethesia to kick in.

I felt the left side of my face slowly becoming numb. When Doc asked me of it is already numb, and i said yes, she called her assistant so someone can hold me while she do the pulling. Doc told me to not exert strength as she pulls and to just relax. She made a hard pull but it was too painful so she injected another dose of anesthesia. Pulled again the second time and this time it was successful. She got my tooth out and it was really a big one, I mean super big molar, no wonder why it was very painful. Even Doc uttered her praise when the tooth was finally extracted.

I was thinking whether or not to include the photo of the tooth here, but for decency I wont.

Doc put some betadine and antiseptic on gums and told me the dos and dints as she handed me the medicines and I handed her the payment. I could not utter a word due to the pain and numbness. I walked outside the gate and rode another pedalcab. When the driver asked me where to go, I could only mumble unrecognizable words and motioned hi to just go. Hahaha. He then asked if I just got a tooth extraction and I said yes. He smiled. That was funny, now I know how kids feel when they cant say exactly what they wanted to say and their parents don't get what they wanted to say. Hahaha.

When I got to the highway, another waiting game. I waited for more than 30 minutes I guess. And it was worth it because I was blessed enough to ride on a LIBRENG SAKAY (Free Ride) Bus! Wohooo! Happy but in pain, that's how I feel. How I wish I would catch this same free ride if I go to the city next time.

Free ride feels..
Holding on tight to my meds and my wallet coz its really cold.
She just wrote my dosage on the packet since she got her own meds and there's no need to buy in the pharmacy.

Look at this clicks that I've got on my way. You can tell that there really us a typhoon.

This is still an aftermath of Typhoon Odette last December..
You can see that there's a portion thats been destroyed. Odette did it.
This one too is an Odette aftermath.

Its sad to think that we are again experiencing another typhoon when in fact, some of us are still recovering from the effects of Odette.. But that is the kind of life that we have to deal with nowadays, these are the effects of global warming, we get strong typhoons and typhoons on summer time. Hope we recognize Mother Earth's call this time.

And that's it! Thank you for joining me on my dental checkup today. It has been a great experience despite the Typhoon.

All photos are captured by yours truly. 
Sponsors of Betha
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.31
$ 0.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
Sponsors of Betha
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Betha
Written by
1 year ago

Comments