The Procrastination Fight 🤦🏾‍♂️

6 22
Avatar for Bensaga
3 years ago

Every activity I'm engaged with for now seems to be very important and thus, lots on my to-do list have been in hibernation for reasons not in existence.

No doubt, procrastination has been a cause and reason for my inactivities and inabilities to work out plans exactly in it's order of priorities as it exists in thoughts.

I thought to myself; 24 hours a day (time factor), people around (people resource) and other resources in place.

How are these factors maximized to get things done?

If I was invited for an interview at a particular time, I'll try as much as possible (maximizing these factors) to meet up with the time. 
That's a priority at the moment and needs urgent attention.

I've had a hard time learning how to overcome procrastination personally. It's a stage of my life though and I take note of the processes.

* Imagine that you did all you set out to do!
* You fully maximize the resources round you!

But truth is, to procrastinate, all it takes is to substitute a lower priority activity for a timely, relevant, or more important one.

Procrastination involves a breakdown in our ability to regulate our thoughts and efforts to achieve purposeful, longer-term outcomes.

This breakdown starts when you perceive negativity or unpleasantness in all or some aspects of an upcoming priority. Then you substitute another activity with the expectation that you will do better later.

To stop procrastinating, all it takes is to do the priority before anything else.

Stopping procrastination is quite easy, but it has a process. 
One thing done overtime becomes a habit. And just like any habit to be stopped doesn't happen instantaneously, it takes a process. Same is for procrastination.

Just-Do-it-now is a sound-good theory. It's a good way to fight the habit of procrastination when repeated over and over. 
Getting reasonable things done in a reasonable way within reasonable time in order to increase personal efficiency, effectiveness and satisfaction with living.

But you know, what is easy and simple to say is most times not easy to do.
It is a radical decision to stop procrastination. But since it isn't instantaneous, most sustainable changes occur through small steps and degrees. 
Little changes are hard to individually quantify , but yet they collectively yield real progress.
It'll take a bit of time and require patience to measure a large change. But start.

Personally, I employ the five-minute-method which helps me to ease the do-it-now process by doing anything at my reach at a moment which I've always been tempted to avoid (Like: writing, Reading, Calling, Listening to messages, scoring a song, etc. ) and it super works.

And also, the first-things-first question is also an awesome way that helps me orient towards what is most pressing and important to do.

I ask myself if there is something else that is more timely and important than what I am now doing, and I start doing it immediately.

In doing so, I have tried and measured a great change and shift and I'm gradually loosing the habit of procrastination.

You too can.

Note; Growth, experience and strength is achieved when procrastination is consistently being overcome by acting set out goals and plans.

Act today and don't keep postponing.

Sponsors of Bensaga
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 0.11
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Bensaga
3 years ago

Comments

This is a great struggle... Kindly keep it up 💪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will dear, thank you so much ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Procrastination is not welcome. We need take our action immediately

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly how it should be done always

$ 0.00
3 years ago