How I saved money for my significant other

5 19
Avatar for BenevolentLad
3 years ago

This school year, I have broken my personal record on an expensive purchase. Php.14,000.00 to be exact, which is a lot for a high school student with no source of income at all. The thing is, the reason why I saved such a great amount of money wasn’t for myself but rather for someone else. His 18th birthday was fast approaching, and I want to give him something that will endure for a lifetime. Things that will live long enough to get my money’s worth and things that will set up that standards of his when receiving a gift from an another possible significant other, other than me in the future.  (Can’t blame myself for this, I’m just thinking of all the possibilities and I’m one competitive young lady hehe). 


Maybe you’re thinking, how the heck did I earn it? Considering that I’m still a high school student with no job and did not come from an upper class bracket at all.  Did I steal someone’s money?  Nah, too risky. Did I apply as a working student? Nah, too lazy. Did I cry and beg for God to suddenly shower me with money? Maybe. Did I calculate the amount of money I accumulate in a whole school year and budget it by bringing packed lunch and not going out after school days to reach my quota each month? Definitely. 


I did not know it was possible, but I did it. I guess, the saying, “Kung gusto may paraan, kung ayaw maraming dahilan” were applied and justified on the outcome of my actions. Reminiscing the struggles I’ve experienced, it truly wasn’t easy. There are times I get tempted to spend money on things that aren’t necessary. There were times that even when I was starving as hell, I couldn’t buy food using my money because I have a certain quota to pursue each month to buy what needs to be bought. I stuck to a tight budget and gave up things like fun hangouts while I was saving. Luckily, I endured all of it. 


One reason is I have set steps. Months before his birthday, I made a list of what I want to get for him and compared prices at different stores to see who has the least expensive price for each item. I then calculated an estimated cost and started working to earn the money needed to pay for the gifts. My plan was to buy each gift one by one as you earn the money. Planning ahead allows you to be organized and not scramble at the last minute looking for the money or lowest prices. 


I also practiced visualization, which is all about imagining yourself once you get to your goals. The key to visualization is detail. You must get specific. I always asked myself, What will I be doing exactly? What will happen when I reach that goal? and I think that’s what makes me keep going and stay motivated. One thing’s for sure, there’s nothing wrong if you shower your significant other with lavish gifts here and there but at the end of the day, it doesn't need to cost a lot to be meaningful. The best gift he ever gave me was his heart. Didn't cost much, but meant everything and that’s what’s important. 



14
$ 0.00
Avatar for BenevolentLad
3 years ago

Comments

That's so sweet of you :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana All!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can be a good financial adviser hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He must be very lucky to have a girlfriend like you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you help me to save up money? :(

$ 0.00
3 years ago